women who reign

Women Who Reign: Jacqueline Ali

Happy Monday Reigners! Hope you had a lovely and eventful weekend. Angela and I have amazing  opportunities to meet women of all different backgrounds who are connected with tech, and want to share more about them with you. They are fierce, brave, and paving the way for future leaders of tomorrow.

We are very excited to kick off our first ever Women Who Reign series with Jacqueline Ali, a student at Northeastern University majoring in Computer Science. You will quickly grow to love her as much as we do…thank you Jackie for being such an inspiring role model!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us a little about yourself along with a fun fact.
Hello! Jackie here! I’m a tech enthusiast who’s obsessed with travel, food, and collecting new experiences. This past year I finished an awesome software development internship at Galatea Associates, completed a Tough Mudder, ate stag in Montreal, attended Square’s College Code Camp, and traveled to Italy with my girlfriend. Fun fact: I keep a Level-Up List on my website of all of the wild things I want to do (like going dog sledding in Alaska or Canada!). I talk too much about cheese, The Legend of Korra, and dogs. I’m kind of a silly dork, but my friends think it’s cool.

What # would define your life journey?
If it’s a number, I’d say 365 because I tend to plan my life around the progress I want to make each year and the things I’d like to accomplish. My self-reflection also tends to center around years.

If we’re talking hashtags, I’m going to make one up and say #AlwaysHungry both in the literal sense (did I mention I like food?) and the “I really want to get this thing done, so I’ll do whatever it takes!” way.

10854908_10206968944132727_7055107510969836718_o
Favorite website / app:
I’d have to say Spotify. I enjoy the freedom it gives me to select what I want to listen to in whatever order I want. Making curated playlists and checking out those of others is really fun too. I’m also a fan of the app’s design: I like it when people mix darks with a highlight color. It’s pretty fun too look at and browse. Plus, offline playlists make for short plane rides!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
This is probably one of the most predictable answers ever, but I really have to say my mom. She does everything she can to make sure my brother and I have the care and opportunities we need to succeed. She’s also really independent and great at adapting to change. She used to be a dental assistant, but when she realized that wasn’t going to work out, she decided to study massage therapy and start her own business. It took a while, but now she gets to be her own boss and has created something she’s really proud of! She’s taught me a million things that make me who I am, but watching her has helped me realize that while the future can be unexpected, change isn’t something that should be feared. I’ve started to look at the uncertainty with curiosity about the new possibilities.

Song that makes you want to dance:
A Little Party Never Killed Nobody by Fergie or almost anything else from the Great Gatsby soundtrack.

Ideal job:
I’m still trying out different paths through internships and academic exploration, but I know that my ideal job involves developing software that empowers and meets the needs of people who are often overlooked. I like solving complicated problems, both in the actual development process but also as a result of my work.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
If you see an opportunity that looks interesting to you, go for it and believe in yourself! Too often we discount ourselves before we apply for things or dive in. I’ve struggled a lot with self-doubt and used to shut doors for myself by telling myself I didn’t have the qualifications for something before giving someone else a chance to decide. Over the years I’ve learned that we tend to underestimate ourselves, so go out there and try things! You may be surprised by how much more prepared you were than you thought.

Leave a Reply

