career · tech tools

Tech Tools 4 Life: TTS Reader ‘Cause I Like Writing and Dislike Editing

 I don’t like editing my writing. I fix any typos in my head. I feel like I know what I wrote, so it’s hard for me to stay focused. Sometimes I’ll read my writing aloud, but unless I’m reading to someone, I just can’t stay focused! I get through a sentence, and my attention span runs away, my mind drifts, and a daze comes over me.
 
On top of not liking to re-read what I wrote, I stress over having typos in an email that I am sending to someone important, like my boss. 
 
Rather than being stressed about editing what I wrote and possibly sending something riddled with typos, I did a little research to see if there is something out there to help me.
 
I found a great website (http://ttsreader.com/) where you can copy and paste your writing into a large text box. You hit “play,” and the words are read back to you. I love this website! You can choose the speed of the person reading ttsback to you and their accent! What a life-saver! Listening to the person reading while I follow along keeps me focused. 
 
This is a fantastic, FREE tool, and I think it makes a huge difference when you can hear someone reading your words. I catch so many errors and awkward sentences using this website.
Leave a Reply

