women who reign

Women Who Reign: Gal Barak

I was doing some research a few weeks ago and came across this article on Brandeis NOW on Teaching Coding and Confidence. After reaching out to congratulate her we ended up having a phone conversation and it’s clear that supporting women in tech is something that Gal is passionate about! Read on below to find out about her unique background and experience, her fun side projects, and what makes her dance!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
At Brandeis
Tell us a little about yourself along with a fun fact.

Hi! My name is Gal and I’m a senior at Brandeis University, pursuing a dual degree in Business and Computer Science. I really enjoy working on UX/ UI and front-end. I am passionate about innovation and hope to start my own startup one day.

I’ve spent the past two summers teaching for Girls Who Code, where I discovered that Computer Science Education doesn’t have to be boring and competitive. It could be fun, personalized, and tangible. I am really proud of all of the Girls Who Code participants who are representing the change we can make in the industry. #GirlPower

Fun facts:

  • I served in the Israeli Defense Force for 2 years before coming to Brandeis.
  • I love cooking and was actually debating whether to go to culinary school or Brandeis.
  • I recently became a proud owner of an Etsy jewelry shop! (https://www.etsy.com/shop/aGalsStatement)

What # would define your life journey?
#iWantIt –
Often, I am lucky to find something I really want – and then I fight hard to get it. Sometimes it works out and sometimes not, but I always learn from it. It motivates me to keep searching until I find the next thing that excites me.

Favorite website / app:
Trying to look professionalIt’s an app called Logic Games. This could sound boring, but last summer I’ve spent every minute on the subway playing this game. It’s challenging enough to wake my brain up every morning and perfect to play with when you only have 10 minutes. Also, I just love puzzles! Try it and you’ll thank me later.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My Parents. They give a different meaning to: “work hard – play hard”. It’s more like: “work harder – so you can play hard 30 years later”. My mom is a super-woman and my dad just knows how to look at the world the right way. It is all about perspective.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Hey Ya is at the top of my list, but here’s an awesome playlist:

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Well that’s easy cause there’s so many of them. In general, I think my main overcoming challenges technique is Google Search (usually leads to Stackoverflow). Two challenges I can mention are technical interviews and my operating systems class – but I’ve passed! =)

Ideal job:
Having my own start up. Until then PM is where I’m heading.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Be fearless. Try something new. It will help you get to know yourself better and find your place in the world. Just like the great Taylor Swift had said: “fearless is having fears but jumping anyway.”

Leave a Reply

