women who reign

Women Who Reign: Haley Acevedo

Happy Wednesday Reigners! We’re excited to highlight Haley, who had an early start to her computing careers. When I heard about how influential her high school teacher John Slattery was I did a little research and found some info on Rate My Teacher and Palm Beach Post. Haley is a perfect example of how you can never start too young and be tenacious in your goals!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

001Tell us a little about yourself along with a fun fact.
My name is Haley Acevedo. I’m a senior at Washington University in St. Louis with a major in Computer Science and a minor in English Literature. I’m frequently asked what I plan to use my English minor for. The answer is nothing, I just like literature and happened to meet the requirements for a minor. A fun fact about me is that I like to crochet, but I’m awful at crocheting straight things yet surprisingly competent at crocheting in the round. My proudest crocheting accomplishment is a stuffed dinosaur I made last year.

What # would define your life journey?
#WhereDidIGoRight? (That may have been a reference to a Hilary Duff song #noshame.) I ended up in computer science on a whim – my high school offered a 4-year program in it, so I just decided to sign up. That one decision changed everything and brought me to where I am today. I suppose I do know where I went right, but I definitely don’t understand how I got so lucky.

Favorite website / app:
Wunderlist is my favorite thing right now. I have tried a plethora of to-list apps, and this is the only one I’ve stuck with. I seriously would not be able to manage my life without it right now.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My high school programming teacher, John Slattery, inspired me. One year he nominated me for a prestigious county scholarship that only the top students get. I almost didn’t accept the nomination because I thought I wasn’t good enough to win, and he told me, “Don’t sell yourself short. You’re better than you think you are. I wouldn’t have nominated you if I didn’t think you could win.” Well, I did not win the scholarship, but that statement has stuck with me all these years. It has helped me open myself up to more opportunities that I otherwise would have missed.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Somewhere in Neverland by All Time Low. It came out a couple years ago, but it’s still my morning routine go-to and it always makes me want to dance.

Ideal job:
This might be kind of vague, but my ideal job is coding for a company whose mission I care about. I want to be able to take my passion for programming and apply it to a good cause and make an impact.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t take things too seriously and know how to balance school with the things you love. Yes, school is important, but so is taking care of yourself. Find what makes you happy and do it.

003

Leave a Reply

