women who reign

Women Who Reign: Catherine Idylle

Happy Friday Day Reigners – what a week it’s been! I met Catherine at Princeton last year and she is definitely a master organizer who is able to pull off large scale events without ease. For a small person Catherine is a powerful force! I wanted to highlight Catherine because of her international background and calmness. Her advice makes me smile and her 3 tips on reducing stress is something I can start doing now as well!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

pizzaTell us a little about yourself along with a fun fact:
I’m a senior studying Psychology and Neuroscience at Princeton University. Outside of school, I like to design (I did UX at Google last summer). Fun facts: I went to a French school in Texas, I taught English in China, and I’ve manned a food stand at the farmer’s market.

Favorite website / app:
Tumblr. It’s great for any specific interest you have! I would recommend following studyblrs for inspiration when procrastinating on homework.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
I’m going to dive into fiction with someone people might not know of: Korra (from the Avatar series). Themes of letting go of the past, forgiving people who have hurt you, having compassion for others, and many other important life lessons have creatively and thoughtfully been demonstrated by the medium of animation. Korra’s journey of suffering and redemption is inspirational and resonates with anyone going through a difficult time.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Elle Me Dit by MIKA – such a happy song!
china
Ideal job:
I would love to work on accessibility issues with technology. I’ve had a little bit of experience with this through some design work but hope to do something great that will help people in the future. I have no idea what that would be yet, so until then I will be designing.

3 tips on reducing stress in college:
As a senior, I’ve survived 3 years of college so far and want to suggest some tricks that might be useful to others. I recommend that people: (1) Spend a little time everyday journaling. Recounting your day is therapeutic. It gives you distance from your thoughts and allows you to work through problems in your life. Drawing and coloring something in your entries can also be stress-relieving and creative. (2) Make an emergency playlist of music or videos. Whenever you are feeling down or stressed out, it’s nice to have an immediate reliever that requires minimal effort. (3) Make your bed everyday. Less clutter in your room, less clutter in your head. A nice bed is also a treat to your future self at the end of the day.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
My biggest advice would be: to reign your life, you need to learn to let go of the past, especially of remarks that might be hurtful and that would diminish your self-confidence. For example, if you are a woman in STEM, people might claim that your success is due to affirmative action. Learn to let go of such remarks and forgive people. Reigning you life will be the best revenge anyway.

Leave a Reply

