inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Priya Krishnan

Tell us a little about yourself along with a fun fact.
My name is Priya Krishnan and I am a senior at Princeton University studying Public and International Affairs. I started my own non-profit, Project Touch, to help financially disadvantaged children with autism through the use of iPod Touches and iPads. I am obsessed with trying new foods and trying to make our meals healthier and tastier. A fun fact about myself: I went bungee jumping (I love a thrill) off of the highest commercial bridge in South Africa when I studied abroad there last semester.
10995478_10153126778363708_885821873721463776_n

What # would define your life journey?
#dontsettleandstaypositive. Staying positive has been drilled into me from my Dad since I was four years old and will probably be my motto for the rest of my life.

DCIM103GOPRO
DCIM103GOPRO

Favorite website / app:
The app I definitely spend the most time on is Instagram. I love taking photos, posting them, and even discovering new recipes and destinations through the app. The other app that I have found incredibly useful is the Nike Training Club app. Exercise has always been a huge part of my life as a former gymnast and it’s awesome to be creative with my workouts using the app!
microlight

­­Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
Jennifer Hyman of Rent the Runway. Jen used technology and the concept of renting dresses to completely disrupt the fashion industry and have Rent the Runway be the first company of its kind to do so. I heard Jen speak at Rent the Runway headquarters in New York and as a female entrepreneur, I aspire to be as innovative, confident and disciplined as she is.

­­Song that makes you want to dance:
Sorry by Justin Bieber. It’s just so incredibly catchy!

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Learning how to break into the tech space with a public policy background — all it takes is passion and pursuing the career you have always wanted.

Ideal Job:
Having my own food tech startup someday. I think it’s such an interesting space and there is so much room for social innovation.
IMG_4879

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Surround yourself with intelligent people — I believe that we are the product of the five people we spend the most time with. Work really, really hard and don’t settle for a career that you don’t want to do. Many of my classmates are pursuing careers that they aren’t passionate about because those are the traditional companies that came to recruit on campus. Think outside of the box, it’s your life!

Leave a Reply

