inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Sandy Huynh

Happy Wednesday Reigners! I’m so so thrilled to feature Sandy Huynh today as one of our Women Who Reign. Sandy and I met back in 2007 when we both started working at VMware within 3 months of each other. I was working in the Boston office and she at our HQ in Palo Alto, but we bonded very quickly over IM, phone calls, and my visits to Cali! Sandy is a big reason why I enjoyed my first job in tech and Campus Recruiting so much. But more importantly, she is a genuine, true-hearted person who supports her girlfriends and is not afraid to stand up for what she feels is right. Read on about her fun job, why family is so important, and why it’s important to look forward.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us a little about yourself along with a fun fact.
My name is Sandy and I am a Technical Recruiter at GoPro! I have been in HR/Recruiting for the last 9+ years and am thoroughly enjoying the career path I’ve chosen! Outside of the work grind, you can find me trying out Iron Chef 30-minute meals on weeknights, chasing Michelin stars, ordering my French Fries extra crispy, or reading about the process of food and how it went from the farm to your table.

Fun fact: I read the ‘Lord of the Rings’ trilogy in 2 weeks time. I’m pretty sure I only left my room to go to school, eat and use the restroom during that duration, haha!
10411896_10154931637530206_3915065346295161719_n

What # would define your life journey?
#BePunctual

When I was 7 years old, my dad gave me a digital alarm clock and told me that I had to remember to set it every night so I could wake up in time to catch the school bus. Because he instilled this in me at such a young age, I’ve learned to never make others wait on me or to be late.

In speaking of that alarm clock, I used it up until 3 years ago when it finally gave out on me. I still have the clock; I will never get rid of it!

Favorite website / app:
Instagram – I love pictures. They tell so many stories and they can conjure up so many emotions. Everyone articulates what they see differently and I find that fascinating!

­­Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My sister inspires me. She may be my younger sister but she is an amazing human being. She is a PhD candidate and a Lecturer at San Francisco State University. Because of her, I have learned that it’s OK to be a Womanist, that we should have conversations about things that make us uncomfortable, and to be more thoughtful about race, gender and culture.
10411274_10154332136650206_7664491320758475291_n

She also makes me a green smoothie every morning. I mean, how great is that?!

Song that makes you want to dance:
Peanut Butter Jelly by Galantis. That song makes me want to happy dance and bounce around like a 5 year old on a sugar high!

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Being a Recruiter is tough. I don’t have a technical background and I have to speak to Engineers on the phone all day long. In order to not get lost in the technical jargon, I’ve learned that I have to build relationships with my hiring managers/teams and ask them to talk to me about the technology. Never be scared to ask questions, people are usually always happy to help!

Ideal Job:
I’d like to pick up the HR side of the house and then take that knowledge and run HR/Recruiting at a startup.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Reflect and respect the past but always keep moving forward. I’ve realized that although the path of life may not be clear; and at times I have definitely become discouraged, know that you are resilient and you will come out stronger from these experiences!
12065641_10156556603860206_5147068082258701841_n

One thought on “Women Who Reign: Sandy Huynh

Leave a Reply

