inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Terri Burns

Happy Tuesday Reigners! Meet Terri Burns who is on the board of Tech@NYU. She will be joining the product team at Twitter after graduation (I think they officially call them Tweeps?!)…congrats Terri! Read on to hear about all the amazing women who inspire her, what makes her a Belieber, and how she keeps herself motivated!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!

I’m currently a senior at New York University, majoring in computer science. I’m president of Tech@NYU, a Square Code Camp alum (I helped ring the bell for the IPO!), and also used to intern at Venmo. After I graduate this May, I’ll be joining the product team at Twitter! A fun fact: I used to work at an aquarium and have waded with sharks!
square3

What # would define your life journey?
#lifeGoals

Favorite website / app:
Twitter

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
I can’t pick just one. In no particular order: Heben Nigatu, Izzy Oji, Aminutou Sow, Jackie Luo, Cassidy Williams, Lindsay Levine, Julie Ann Horvath, Ann Friedman, Chelsea Odufu and so many others.

These women have taught me to challenge myself and the world around me, to keep learning, to take a break when I need to, and to never stop building.

Song that makes you want to dance:
This changes weekly. But currently… Been You by Justin Bieber. (Yes, I just admitted to liking Justin Bieber.)

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I just finished up a computer systems course that was all in C. It was the hardest class I’ve ever taken. To be frank, I’m not great at C programming/low level languages, and I wasn’t super motivated to learn. I feel really grateful for my tech friends and classmates that helped me through it. Sometimes getting the work done was a matter of buckling down, getting help, or taking a break and having a good laugh before jumping back in.
Terri1

Ideal job:
Product management at Twitter đŸ™‚

Down the line, I hope to use what I learn these next few years to build technologies that can help improve the lives of people who need it most, whoever that may be.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Hm. I’ve learned a ton from actively trying to be part of the communities/networks in my field. This means asking a lot of questions, joining conversations, and contributing knowledge when I feel it’s the right time and place. Being supported has gotten me a long way, and if you can find support that will be a major help (and if you don’t know how, ask)! But most importantly, giving back to the people who support you can foster incredible relationships and help you reign in your own way. Remember shine theory and always say thank you.

At least, that seems to have worked for me.

Leave a Reply

