inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Luisa Goytia

Happy Wednesday Reigners! Meet Luisa Goytia, who I met through the Girls Who Code program. Read on about her amazing background, how her family has inspired her, her short and long-term goals, what makes her dance like no one’s watching, and her colorful advise to others!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am half Mexican, half Colombian. I moved to the States when I was about 11 and have been here ever since with my parents and my little brother. Knowing no English initially, I rose to the top of my class in two years and graduated both Middle School and High School as the Valedictorian. I fell in love with Computer Science as I completed the Girls Who Code Summer Immersion program and I am currently pursuing my Bachelor’s Degree in Computer Science.

Fun fact: As a good Colombian, I love dancing Salsa, Bachata, Merengue and anything I can move my body to. And as a good Mexican, I am also crazy about Cumbia and Rancheras!

I also LOVE food. My dream is to go around the world eating!
FB_IMG_1427986836411
What # would define your life journey?

There are so many # that relate to my life journey yet I think everything is summarized by #PassionateSinceBirth

Favorite website / app:
I love Vingle. I find myself looking at it multiple times a day as I have access to everything from news to history to nail designs to health tips to exercises.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
There are so many famous people that have done great things for history, for our economy and the well-being of society yet the most inspirational people in my life are my parents. Both of my parents have had such an arduous life and now that I am older, I am able to see and fully appreciate how much they have had to sacrifice for my brother and I. While they are not perfect, after all, they are human, their example has allowed me to be a better daughter to them and a better sister to my little brother.

In terms of knowledge, the biggest knowledge I have acquired from my father is that absolutely nothing in life is easy. As he has repeated multiple times, not even using the bathroom is easy as it can be painful when we least expect it. This may not be too colorful but this wisdom has gotten me through all my failures and countless insecurities that have risen during vulnerable times.

The wisdom I appreciate the most from my mom does not come from her spoken message as with my dad, but rather, from her actions. She taught me silence. In order to protect me, she kept quiet of her own exhaustion and/or other external factors that could have harmed me in one way or the other. She protected my happiness and innocence when needed and introduced me to the harsh reality we have all faced at one point or another slowly as she held my hand protectively. She protected me through her silence and then through her careful guidance and undying support and understanding. My inner strength comes from my witnessing her own strength deployed to protect her two children.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Marc Antony’s Vivir mi Vida does not only spur a desire to dance but it will actually have me on my feet in 2 seconds. It does not matter if I have no partner or if I am in a public setting, I was stand up and dance because, why not? #MusicIsLife

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Studying computer science has been one of the biggest challenges of my life. I am not a natural and the answer does not just come down from heaven so any program I work on is a technical challenge. It takes me twice as long to solve a problem compared to other people. This is, of course, very hard to deal with and it is even harder to remember not to compare myself to other people. I am human after all and comparing myself to others is in my nature. During these times I always rely on my father’s tough love. He will always remind me that:

  1. Nothing is easy in life. Not even using the bathroom.
  2. Everyone is different and I would not be where I am if I did not belong here.
  3. (He always ends it with some sweet words) “You are my daughter. I will love you regardless so do your best.”

Ideal job:
Short-term: Google’s Project Manager
Long-term dream: Owner of my own tech company
20151230_183959

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?

  1. It took me a very long time to discover that you should not and cannot please everyone, so why bother? Sometimes you just have to do what is best for you even if the world is against you. Having said this, it is by no means easy to go against important people like your family but remember that they will love you no matter what. They will get mad but they will eventually get over it.
  2. Expectations were made by those who did not follow their hearts. If what you love falls within the “expectations” that you face, that is great because that means that you will have less arguments with others. However, if your dreams are outside them, don’t be afraid to still follow those goals. Use the expectations to your favor, use them as the least you can do, anything above that is a win.
  3. Failure is just as helpful and positive as success. This is something I learned from Girls Who Code. Success only teaches that you are good at something and you have worked hard. Failure teaches what you are not good at and perhaps it also teaches you what you don’t like. It sheds light on aspects of yourself that were perhaps unknown. So fail. Then fail again. And then fail once more and a hundred times more. This does not make you any less intelligent or less worthy. It makes you courageous and confident. Be confident about your failures just as much as your successes.
Leave a Reply

