inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Sabera Daqiq

Happy Friday Reigners! It’s been a great week for us, kicking off the 1st week of the year with so many amazing profiles 🙂 Today we’re delighted to have Sabera Daqiq, a TA for the Girls Who Code program.

Sabera has one of the most compelling personal stories that I’ve ever heard, leaving behind her parents and 6 siblings to come to the US from Afghanistan 5 years ago. She is independent, brave, and a force in and of herself. Read on and you will discover the poise and eloquence that clearly shines through!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!

  • I tried but never got to like Star Wars.
  • I don’t play video games or watch drama on demand because I will get addicted to it.
  • I have binge watched a drama for 48 hours without sleeping.
  • I am a senior at Georgetown College studying Computer Science.
  • I am from Afghanistan. It has been 5 years since I have been in the US.
  • I have 7 siblings.
  • I like traveling and living in other cultures.
  • In my free time, I drink green tea and read books. It can range from informational books to Sci-Fi novels.
  • After socializing, I need alone time to recharge and can’t hold discussions about the weather.
  • I do yoga few times a week.
  • The only food I don’t like is peanut butter.

SaberaWsibilings

What # would define your life journey?
# LikeAGirl
I have been told”you can’t do it” my whole life. If I just accepted others definition of me, I couldn’t fix the fridge, code or ride a bike. Just because I am a girls does not mean anybody has a stake on defining who I am and my limits. Nobody knows the limits of where I can reach not even me. It is a beautiful feeling when you defy their expectations.

Favorite website / app:
I love stimulating my brain. Brain Games, hosted by Jason Silva, does that. Jason is making philosophy a part of pop culture. In one of his shows he said, “We are Gods now, the Gods of our digital world and how the knowledge of the universe is in our fingertips. We imagine and then create it. We are the creators.”
group

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
One of the stories that keeps me going and gives me motivation over and over when I face failure is the story of an old man and a Beetle. There was an old man who wanted to become educated but couldn’t learn anything. In school everyone would make fun of the old man sitting with the first graders.  He tried very hard to learn but kept failing over and over. People around him would discourage him. “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks” they would say. He finally gave up studying, left the school and went home feeling hopeless.  He sat in the floor, lying against the wall and staring at a lantern. Soon he noticed a Beetle trying to get on the top of the lantern. Each time the Beetle was making its way to the lantern, it would fall down and it would start over. The man kept watching the Beetle falling over and over never making it to the top of the lantern.  He laughed at the Beetle, thinking it could never make it to the top.  The man watched the Beetle until he fell asleep.

In the morning when the man woke up, he saw the Beetle sitting on the top of the lantern very proudly.  The Beetle had tried again and again until he finally succeeded to make it to the top.

That morning the man went back to school.  After each failure he tried again and tried harder.  He kept trying because he knew that one day – like the Beetle – he would raise to the top.  Years later he became the most successful philosopher of his time.  People rich and poor respected him.  His students asked “Who was your teacher?”  The man always answered that a Beetle was his teacher.

My father is my hero because even though we would hear bomb explosions outside, he never stopped reading to us. He is a hero of our lives by showing his extraordinary resilience and hard work, and encouraging us to do the same.
SaberaWFriends

Song that makes you want to dance:
I love all Shakira songs. I can’t choose one. Additionally, I will survive makes me dance and Un-break my heart makes me sing.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Know the biases. Our brains are wired to categorize and generalize. Most people do not want to have biases and do not think they have one. Our biases summarize all the information we get. Unfortunately, sometimes these biases are not accurate and do not serve our purpose.  It is not possible not to have any biases at all but since we grow up with it, it blends into the background.

The TV is playing Duck Dynasty while I am writing this. One of the characters, a guy, is crying and the other character tells him to stop crying before he grows lady parts. Now you can decide what that means for yourself.
group 1

Leave a Reply

