inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Bri Chapman

Happy MLK Day Reigners! Meet Bri Chapman – what I love about her is that she doesn’t come from the “typical” engineer background and has lots of outside interests. Read on to see the site that helps her plan her life, her best negotiating song, and the best ideal job I’ve ever heard of 🙂
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

unnamed (2)
Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My first love was dancing. I always hear engineers say they’ve been interested in math since they were little, but I always loved arts and strongly disliked math. Luckily, by the patience of some incredible teachers and mentors, I fell in love with software engineering as an art. I recently became a barista. I love hiking. Mountains make my heart sing. I’m really excited to graduate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in May!

What # would define your life journey?
#diversity defines my life journey. I love having friends who are different from me in some way and I am constantly looking for new experiences. Plus, you know, diversity in STEM is important too.
unnamed (4)

Favorite website / app:
IFTTT – it lets me program my real life!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
Sometimes I am fortunate enough to work with students just starting their coding journey. They are always so inspiring. From them, I have learned that the most important skill an engineer can have is the ability to fall in love with the material. Once these students fall in love with engineering, they ALWAYS succeed.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Worth It (feat Kid Ink) by Fifth Harmony — this is also my best negotiating song!

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
In sophomore year I had a bug I couldn’t track down in a coding assignment. It was 10 minutes to the deadline and I had been looking at it for hours and still couldn’t find it. In a fit of passion, I deleted the whole assignment, and rewrote the entire thing from scratch. With two minutes to the deadline, I ran the assignment and it worked flawlessly. It is still one of my proudest coding moments.
MicrosoftDS3

Ideal Job:
Code Goddess, definitely.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t ever try to fit in.
unnamed (3)

Leave a Reply

