inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Grace Hu

“I was smart enough to go through any door that opened.” – Joan Rivers

Happy weekend Reigners! Meet Grace Hu from Wellesley College. Read on to see how she stumbled upon Computer Science, how her amazing summer internship will intersect tech and space, and how attending an all womens’ school has provided her with support! She can relate to NAVY Seals and also references one of our past Women Who Reign which we love, love, love to see!!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a junior at Wellesley College from the Bay Area. I stumbled upon computer science at the end of high school and have since immersed myself in this exciting field. CS’s interdisciplinary nature particularly gets me excited; in Wellesley’s Human Computer Interaction lab, I’ve researched how Google Glass can help biologists in their labs and how time management visualizations can benefit business executives. I’m looking forward to my summer at Planet Labs, where I’ll get to see technology’s intersection with space! Above all, I love encouraging other women (especially friends not in STEM fields) to take introductory courses in CS, stop by hackathon workshops, join online communities, and help them through the nitty gritty debugging details. It’s been a phenomenal experience to learn CS in an all women’s college, too, and the support and enthusiasm here is infectious.

What # would define your life journey?
I’d say 3 – it’s my lucky number and somehow the third time’s really a charm. I think it’s really easy to hit roadblocks in CS – in coding, the hiring process, navigating the tech world as a woman. Don’t be afraid to show some persistence and passion, and keep going!

Favorite website / app:
My Square Code Camp roommate Terri Burns (she is a tech goddess) helped create beyoncetrader.com, an epic website where Queen B’s expressions reflect how well the stock market is performing. As someone who just started to invest my money in the stocks, I find this website a gem.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
I believe that I am the sum of every person I have met. It’s hard for me to pick one person because SO MANY people inspire me – my professors, alums, Square Code Camp classmates, people in online communities, and students. Their work, character, and wisdom inspire and encourage me so much. I think one of the best pieces of advice I ever received was to give everything a fair shot before disregarding it. As a result, I’ve devoted myself to exposing myself to as many sides of tech and CS as possible.
Screen Shot 2016-01-14 at 11.50.47 713

Song that makes you want to dance:
Soulja Boy. Okay more like Jackson 5’s I Want You Back.

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I remember starting to build a Google Glass application for my research project without any prior experience with Glass and only after 2 introductory CS classes – it was pretty intimidating. I worked alongside my partner and talked through our thought processes, just taking baby steps. Google and Stack Overflow literally became my two bffs for the summer.

Ideal Job:
Megan Smith’s job: CTO of America

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
The Navy SEALS believe that we are 20 times more capable of things than we think we are. That being said, don’t fear what you don’t know, haven’t tried, or think is hard! Give it a shot!!

Leave a Reply

