inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Angel Gao

“Cautious, careful people, always casting about to preserve their reputations can never effect a reform.” – Susan B Anthony

Happy Sunday Reigers – hope you’re having a relaxing start to the day! Meet Angel Gao from The University of Waterloo, focusing on data science. Read on to see how tech shouldn’t define your lie. Check out her website at angelgao.com!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a student at the University of Waterloo with an interest in data science. Originally studying Computer Science, I have recently decided to also pursue a statistics major along with my CS major (and I’m loving the influx of math!) As a big data intern currently in San Francisco for the first time, I am using my spare time to learn yoga, and to explore every corner of this new city.

Fun fact: I have an immense fear of snails.

What # would define your life journey?
#Growth
Reflecting on my short journey so far, I can say that I’ve changed a lot. I’ve become more outgoing, less afraid, and more focused. While I am very proud of where I am today, I am also aware that I have a lot of room for improvement. So as an individual continuing on this journey, I think it’s important to be self-aware, to be constantly growing, and to be proud of the growth that has happened.
mmexport1452751031227

Favorite website / app:
google.com

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
All my peers inspire me. I love hearing the details of a person’s life journey, and everyone has something which makes me go “Wow”. From my best friend in high school, I’ve learned to not be afraid of hearing “no” from others. From a university friend, I’ve realized how much interest drives learning, so we should all develop our passions. And of course, this list goes on…

Song that makes you want to dance:
Any song by Beyonce!

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Whenever I start a new internship, it’s always tough to learn everything that’s thrown at you so fast. I always try to understand a company’s tech infrastructure, which can be very difficult if the company is mature. In general, I find it’s useful to ask questions on anything that’s unclear, and drawing diagrams can really help. 🙂
10679869_10202878674711388_8961259094822270281_o

Ideal Job:
Doing more math along with coding.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Try to get out of your comfort zone, be confident in yourself, be open to helping others, and don’t let tech define your life.

Leave a Reply

