inspiration

Women Who Reign: Haley Owen

“It took me quite a long time to develop a voice, and now that I have it, I am not going to be silent.” – Madeleine Albright

Happy Friday Reigners – we’re ready for the weekend! Meet Haley Owen, lover of horses and studying at UTAustin! Her mom is an original Reigner who majored in Math before STEM was popular 🙂 Read on to see her employment goals, where she’s worked and how she’s gained confidence over time. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’ll start with the fun facts:

  1. My favorite food since I was 4 has been donuts. So if you ever want to get on my good side…
  2. My guilty pleasures are watching Netflix and playing Smash!

Other than that, I grew up in a small town outside of Houston. My biggest hobby has always been riding horses, and no, I did not ride them to school! I became interested in computer science in high school, and decided to major in it at UT Austin where I had wanted to attend school for a long time because my parents took me to the football games while I was growing up. Outside of classes, I enjoy attending hackathons and coding competitions, and I have been the webmaster for the Texas Equestrian team. During the summers, I’ve had great experiences with internships at Morningstar, Visa, and next summer I’ll be at mongoDB!
12239317_516354981858566_1145099778632549394_o

What # would define your life journey?
#IWokeUpLikeThis… Finding one word (hashtag) to describe my life is a lot harder than it seems. So I found a quiz on brainfall.com called “What’s your hashtag?” to find my perfect hashtag. It came up with #IWokeUpLikeThis! I have to say this is a little too accurate for me.

Favorite website / app:
Reddit is what I spend the most time on. I have a love/hate relationship with the /r/aww subreddit because apparently my animals aren’t cute enough!
46882_1475194173744_8285182_n

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My mom and dad have been true inspirations to me. My mom graduated from UT Austin with a degree in Mathematics; Even before it was cool for women to be in STEM! They have shown me the importance of getting a degree and working hard to achieve your goals. My parents have also been the best support group that I could ever imagine!

Song that makes you want to dance:
Good To Be Alive by Andy Grammer. If you haven’t been listening to this song on loop 24/7 then you’re doing something wrong!
58277_1488263020457_3209607_n

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Most of the challenges I’ve faced in computer science haven’t been technical. One of the biggest problems I face is lacking confidence during interviews. It causes me to not do as well as I think I could. I’ve overcome this by interviewing a lot and doing practice interview questions, but interviews are always a stressful time!

Ideal Job:
My dream job is to work at SpaceX or NASA. I took an Astronomy course, and fell in love with learning about cosmological theories and how the universe works. It would be so cool to connect computer science and astronomy!

My ideal job is to work at a small successful company as a software engineer; someplace where I can really make a difference.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Speak up! Have the confidence to tell people your ideas or how you think something should work whether it be in scrum meetings, while working on school projects, or just discussing ideas with your friends. I’ve noticed that there are too many intelligent women who go unnoticed because they’re too afraid to speak their mind.
12279084_10206674562056619_6518118668540845723_n

Leave a Reply

