inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Angie Murphy

“If you don’t risk anything, you risk even more.” – Erica Jong

Happy Friday Reigners! Meet Angie Murphy, now at UT Austin. Read on to see how one programming course changed everything for her, how she’s shaken off negativity, and how meeting others in the same field can be so beneficial.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hello, I’m Angie! I am from a small town in Southeast Texas and dove into the large city of Austin for my undergraduate degree. Growing up I loved music, stories, dogs, coloring books, and food. Today – I am the same. In high school, I was not a fan of programming, nor did I believe I could be good at it. However, one college programming course changed everything for me. After noticing how much fun I had doing the assignments in my class, I researched what programming could be used for. Turns out – it’s a lot! What caught my eye though was the bridge between art and computer science. I could be programming for animated films, learning graphics, or developing the skills to become a technical artist for games! The moment I discovered this, I was hooked.
IMG_3249 (1)

A few fun facts about me is that I spent 8 years playing the French Horn and I’m a member of Ravenclaw.

What # would define your life journey?
#learnwhentolisten

Favorite website / app:
Youtube, definitely
995449_10153080007280065_1763078776_n

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
I have to list both of my parents. They have gone through the ups and downs of owning a small business in order to do the job they love. In my mind, they couldn’t have taught me a better lesson than the importance of sticking with what you want to do.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Blue – Marina and the Diamonds

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I’d like to talk about more of a personal challenge in the field of computer science. In joining this field, I knew it wouldn’t be easy by any means and told myself in the beginning to not give up when it gets difficult. In one of my intro courses I struggled – a lot. I had never struggled with learning content like this before and I took it very hard. I went to an instructor to discuss my struggles and the chance to retake the course and they said to my face, “What makes you think you can succeed if you try again?” and laughed at my mistakes on a recent exam. It took me a year to shake the negativity of these words and move on. This is why my hashtag is “learn when to listen.” It is most important to me to know when to absorb criticism, and when to take it with a grain of salt.
548884_10152728561265065_583622856_n

Ideal Job:
Technical Artist / Technical Director

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
When I first joined the major I kept to myself in my classes and often felt lonely. At times, it would feel like I was the only person who didn’t understand certain concepts. After going to the Grace Hopper Celebration in Houston, I learned the value of meeting others in the field and it truly made me so much happier! I definitely recommend meeting others and making friends.

Leave a Reply

