inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Tiana Mininfield

“No matter how difficult and painful it may be, nothing sounds as good to the soul as the truth.” – Martha Beck

Happy Wednesday Reigners! This is a special day for me for many reasons:
1. It’s my birthday 🙂
2. I’m working on the east coast (in NJ this week) which means I get so spend time with Angela….the best way to spend this day!
3. I get to feature Tiana Mininfield!

Tiana is a good friend and colleague at Square. I recall seeing her being introduced to our team and remember thinking that she seemed nice and quiet. I was wrong! Well, not about the nice part 😉 Tiana is a smart, graceful, and outspoken feisty woman who definitely carries her own.

Read on about her fun fact (one of my favorites that I asked her to include), what advice she has for other women and what kind of cheerleader she wants you to be for yourself.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m an intelligence analyst for Square in San Francisco. I’m originally from the Bay Area but have lived in San Diego, Los Angeles, Washington D.C. and New York City. I started my career in marketing and public relations then somehow found myself working as a contract investigator for the federal government. Now I am an analyst at a tech company back in the Bay Area. Full circle! The path I took was not at all planned but it’s made me the person I am today.

Fun Fact – when I was a baby, I was on the Purple Rain tour with my dad who performed with Prince!
1461629_10204968279628385_3666787735552786553_n (2)

What # would define your life journey?
#unpredictable

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My grandmother. She has always pushed me to live life the way I want without focusing on traditional expected societal norms. I wouldn’t have done the things I’ve done and lived in the places I’ve lived without the support of a family that puts my happiness before anything else.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Dancing On My Own – Robyn
12622142_10153973104748825_3778215071792172902_o

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I spent my twenties feeling like I was never enough. Not smart enough. Not thin enough. Not motivated enough. Not beautiful enough. Not successful enough. I’ve decided to dedicate my thirties to realizing my potential and acknowledging everything that I am, which is more than enough. This is a work in progress. But I think being open and honest about the things that lots of young women struggle with will only allow us to overcome them faster.

Ideal Job:
I’ve always wanted to work somewhere that uplifts and supports its employees as well as its customers. I’m lucky enough be at a company that supports fairness, equality, and growth for everyone. I hope to one day do more to support underrepresented people and communities.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
My advice to young women, is do not delay the process of learning to be your own biggest cheerleader. Not in a cheesy ‘go girl’ type of way but in honest respect and love for yourself. Stand in appreciation of who you are and what you have done as often as you can.
11229401_10206781931648552_4665260368712537531_n

Leave a Reply

