inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Anstonia Ngo Yee Ma

“Done is better than perfect.” – Sheryl Sandberg

Happy Thursday Reigners! Meet Anstonia Ngo Yee Ma and read on to see the program that inspired her to go into Computer Science,  her lucky number, and her advice on why you sometimes need to rely on yourself.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
At first, I didn’t know what I really wanted to do with my life. I hadn’t looked into any majors and I honestly didn’t know what my strong suits were. The one event that changed my perspective was joining the Girls Who Code Summer Immersion Program. There, I was able to start learning all types of programming languages and find my new calling. That is why I am now in UC Berkeley planning to double major in both computer science and cognitive science.

Onto the more fun and interesting things, I utterly love playing computer games. I have at least 20 installed on my computer, but sadly don’t have as much time to play many of them anymore.

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
In terms of technical challenges, I’ve definitely struggled adapting to the fast-paced rigor of Berkeley’s computer science classes, but I have was ultimately able to complete my courses and come out with much more knowledge than I had when I went in. This knowledge will come in handy when I graduate and start applying for jobs because I want to either do research with artificial intelligence, natural language processing, and even game development. Professor John Denero here at UC Berkeley got me interested in natural language processing and inspires me because he himself chose subjects that he had difficulty with, but chose to go through with them for the sake of learning.
10446127_10152539397739705_1676198249920287475_o

What # would define your life journey?
A number that describes my life journey is 8 because I’ve realized how much the concepts I’ve learned, relationships with people I know, and a multitude of other things have come back into my life. What I mean by that is just that a lot of my experiences from before help me as I’m tackling the present and planning for my future.

Favorite website / app:
My favorite website would either Facebook or 9gag.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Stolen Dance by Milky Chance and First by Cold War Kids

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
You will need to rely on yourself a lot. There will be times where everyone you once relied on might not be available to help you and that’s when you will have to stand on your own two feet to make your own decisions, fail on your own terms, and live up to your own expectations. With that, not only will you be able to deal with the failures that life will ultimately bring, but also be able to learn from those and come out stronger than before.
10495988_10203677576396668_2221807667189486207_o

Leave a Reply

