inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Bobbilee Hartman

“When you don’t create things, you become defined by your tastes rather than ability. your tastes only narrow & exclude people. so create.” – why the lucky stiff
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a software developer based out of Minneapolis, MN. I work for Bloc.io as a mentor for their full stack web development course. I also plan unplugged retreats for fun. My first retreat was called Rails Camp USA West Coast. Soon to be announced I am organizing a new series of unplugged retreats with a few different partners around the US. I love to trail run/hike, travel, and take pictures when I’m not planning retreats and programming. Fun fact, my first internship was in the big apple with Shape Magazine, it was pretty neat.

What # would define your life journey?
#neverstoplearning

Favorite website / app:
Shazam. I’m pretty into music 🙂

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
Inspires me, I would definitely say Sandi Metz. She is amazing and a real straight shooter. I took her class in North Carolina and got to know her pretty well. I learned how she got to where she is and I just love how real she is. What I learned most from Sandi is to be myself and to stick up for myself when I think something is wrong with a code base even when I’m new on a team. Also she’s taught me to be ‘confidently honest’ when I don’t understand something. “It’s OK and not a big deal to not know something yet!”
IMG_8306

Song that makes you want to dance:
Recently, Big Grams – Lights On

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I honestly can’t think of any one specific thing. All day everyday I run into things I didn’t know I didn’t know. Whenever things come up I ping my network and pair over a cup of coffee or screenhero session.

Ideal Job:
Still programming remotely for a brand that I’m passionate about, probably in the form of developer evangelism. AND owning a cabin / lodge up north where people come to unplug and learn new things.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t compare yourself to others. When someone around you is speaking about something that you haven’t heard yet, don’t get down on yourself. Think of it like this, it’s not that they are smarter than you they have simply just read a bit more about a certain subject. Keep your head up, because it’s as simple as that, really. This realization saved me while I was learning to program and I still remind myself of it when I feel imposter syndrome sneak in.

Leave a Reply

