inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Adena Bauer

“When we speak we are afraid our words will not be heard or welcomed. But when we are silent, we are still afraid. So it is better to speak.” – Audre Lorde
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Adena Bauer and I am a junior at USC studying Computer Science and Business Administration. I grew up in the Bay Area, but my parents sold our home once I left for college to launch a startup in Chicago; so, I consider my home to be in Los Angeles, Chicago and the Bay Area all at once.

I’ve been very active in the tech community during my time at USC. I co-founded Spark SC, USC’s leading tech and entrepreneurship organization, and I am a lead organizer for HackSC, USC’s 800-person hackathon.The most important lesson I’ve learned in college is that being a valued team member means to have a “step-up-to-the-plate” attitude and to take responsibility for the good and the bad; value does not boil down to skill.

A fun fact about myself is that everyone in my immediate family lives in a different state [Illinois, California, Michigan and Massachusetts].
My_Sisters (2)

What # would define your life journey?
#SprintsAndSidesteps

Favorite website / app:
It changes often, but currently it’s the AllRecipes shopping list app! You can add recipes and then it will automatically update your shopping list to include all the ingredients.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My friend, Calvin. He views life as sum of its learning opportunities. He is always challenging himself because he is confident that he can learn anything and is unafraid to be whoever he wants to be. When I first came to college, I was entirely unaware of my capabilities and I was too timid to venture into new challenges. Since then, I have switched into engineering, lead an organization and developed an appreciation for the unknown. Though I owe my success to myself, Calvin has been a major influence in my progress.
Chicago_Favorite_Memory

Song that makes you want to dance:
Sunday Candy

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I was challenged when I had to learn a few new technologies and languages prior to my software engineering internship last summer. One of my favorite ways to learn is by following YouTube tutorials; it’s amazing how many resources YouTube has for developers. For me, watching is easier than reading.
Chicago

Ideal Job:
Project Manager or Business Analyst at a small to medium sized tech company in the Bay Area.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
If you want a particular role, learn everything you can about it and start being the best person for the job. Don’t ask permission or wait until the role comes to you: just start being the best.
Spark_2

Leave a Reply

