inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Doris Everett

“Women will only have true equality when men share with them the responsibility of bringing up the next generation.” – Ruth Bader Ginsburg
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I have worked in IT for approx. 30 yrs. I started out as a Medical Technologist, but always knew I wanted to study Computer Science. When I told my high school guidance counselor I wanted to study Computer Science, she said:”‘Oh no, you don’t want to do that.” So I didn’t. After working in a hospital lab, when computers really started taking off, I knew I had to pursue my dream so I went back to school and got my B.S. in Computer Science with a minor in Finance. Since then, I’ve worked for the federal government; raised a family of 3 boys; ran our family business; and was a Business Manager for a private non-profit school. 9 years ago I returned to full-time IT work and now work for a software company developing software for law enforcement.

A fun fact – I’ve always dreamed of being a professional dancer. I love to dance 🙂

What # would define your life journey?
#jackofalltradesmasterofnone

Favorite website / app:
Hmmm, can’t think of one favorite. I use AOL and FB lately along some Twitter; Google is my favorite search engine.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My sister Tully; I have always admired her growing up. She has always been a strong, confident woman. She has had her own businesses. She is 76 years old, still works hard and plays badminton 2x per week. She has encouraged and supported me through many of my challenges and struggles over the past ten years. She believes in me and encourages me when I need someone there to listen.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Uptown Funk by Bruno Mars

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
In my current position I had to learn how to install many different software application products that have to interface with each other and work from end to end to process and import data. I had very little to no installation documentation to install and configure these applications. I asked a lot of questions and gathered the information I needed from many sources and was able to successfully install the applications.

Ideal Job:
Working in the Healthcare Information Systems field. I have always wanted to combine by medical background with Computer Science.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Continue to learn new skills and techniques. Stay positive and never give up. If you have a dream, set goals to achieve those dreams. You are in control of your own destiny. Don’t listen to those who say you can’t or should not because you can and you will!

Leave a Reply

