inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Imaculate Mosha

“If you’re not making some notable mistakes along the way, you’re certainly not taking enough business and career chances.” – Sallie Krawcheck
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I was born and raised in Tanzania, I then came to South Africa for university. Until college my favorite subject was Physics, I was even aspiring to be a physics researcher. I got the Computer Science bug in college and it hasn’t left me since. I like that it combines both my passion for writing and math and logic skills.

I’m a final student at the University of Cape Town South Africa and I’m currently studying Electrical and Computer Engineering. I’m currently the ChairPerson of Women in computer science society, of which I was a cofounder after attending Grace Hopper 2014. I make time for competitions and hackathons. In my spare time I read (mostly biographies and non-fiction) and blog here. I will be joining Amazon CapeTown upon graduation.

Fun fact:
I wrote the graduation song in my highschool graduation.
I drink way too much tea for a normal human being.

Favorite website / app:
8tracks.com

I listen to music as I code and 8tracks is my go to app. The app knows my taste of music, I’m never disappointed with the playlist suggestions. coding. It ties with wunderlist.com, without it I would go insane.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
I’m currently reading Richard Branson’s biography and he really inspires me. His life is a living proof that success isn’t limited by how much knowledge or money you have but how you use what you know and risks that you take. He gives business advice that applies to a lot other aspects in life.

ipp
Hisilicon K3

Song that makes you want to dance:
You are never fully dressed without a smile by Sia, this song just releases my endomorphins.

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I’m faced with technical challenges almost daily either from assignments or internships. I think that’s the nature of this field. One experience really stands out for me. I have always wanted to contribute to open source projects but I found it difficult to understand the code base not to mention some concepts fundamental to the project. I was afraid of making a fool of myself. I took the leap and started working on an issue on Scikit-Learn , I figured the worst case scenario would be that pull request wouldn’t be merged and it didn’t sound bad after all. A week later my PR was merged. That was a very proud moment for me.

Ideal Job:
I would like a job that combines research and social good. My geeky side still wants to discover new knowledge through research. I would like to follow of footsteps of Rana el Kaliouby and others like her.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Just do it. There will be always that negative self side that doesn’t believe you will win that competition or award or internship or [insert your goal here]. Do it anyway, if you fail you’ll get over it. Failure is not worth killing your chances to succeed.

Leave a Reply

