inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Chelsea Pugh

“A surplus of effort could overcome a deficit of confidence.” – Sonia Sotomayor
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I studied Computer Science at the University of Michigan and graduated in 2015 and have been working at Apple as a Software Engineer for about half a year. Outside of work I enjoy reading, traveling, going to concerts, and baking. Before graduating, I had internships at a mobile application development firm called Detroit Labs and Twilio. I’ve played cello for 13+ years and hope to join a non-professional orchestra in the Bay Area at some point.

What # would define your life journey?
2. That’s the number of minutes I tried to think of a number that defines my life journey besides realizing there isn’t really one for me.

Favorite website / app:
Spotify

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My mom inspires me because she is an environmental engineer in a male-dominated industry and she has imparted the knowledge that you can be successful at your career, raise a family, and be involved in hobbies outside of work and do well at all of those things.
11702674_10153529189525087_6747879153771919793_n

Song that makes you want to dance:
Bow Down – CHVRCHES

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I always found navigating large codebases pretty challenging, especially when they weren’t entirely created me and by working with them more, I’ve overcome my fear and lack of confidence that I used to have about them.

Ideal Job:
Working and having an influence on a product that has a big reach and impacts (and ideally helps) a lot of people.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Never be afraid to say hello. Meet as many people as possible and build up relationships around you because those are the key to success.
IMG_3465

Leave a Reply

