inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Ofure Ukpebor

You can be the lead in your own life. – Kerry Washington
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ofure4
Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Ofure Ukpebor [pronounced Aufuray Uuk-pay-bore]. I was born and raised in Nigeria. I’m Currently in the Computer Science graduate program at the City College of New York, involved in research in Data Science and Natural language Processing. I’m also a NSBE student mentor and Girls Who Code mentor here in New York.

Fun fact: I saw snow for the first time this winter and went out to sing ‘Do you wanna build a snowman‘ song from the movie – Frozen. It was a silly and exciting experience!
ofure3

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My Father is my biggest inspiration. He thought me to believe in myself, to achieve anything I wanted to. My family is a great support system and even if I fail at a task, I know they’ve got my back!

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I’ve been coding for about 4 years now and I’ve learned that implementing my solution on paper before writing code helps me a great deal. I spend more time analyzing the problem and deciding on the best tool to use for the job before writing code. Calling a team member to look through ‘disobedient’ code or talk over the problem with also helps: sometimes before I finish describing the problem, I figure out where I made a mistake.
ofure1

Ideal Job:
A job that gives you a sense of satisfaction and self-worth because you are able to build products that matter and provide solutions to real-life problems. One that you’ll wake up to every morning excited to get started because you are creating an impact.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Believe in yourself, sister! Every expert was once a beginner and if they could learn or invent, you also can. So do positive self-talking to yourself often and be open to learning every day.
Love what you do – and do a lot of it.

Leave a Reply

