inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Tanuja Mohan

“Normal is not something to aspire to, it’s something to get away from.” – Jodie Foster
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a current freshman undergraduate studying computer science at the University of Southern California. I started off by modifying the HTML script on my Tumblr page and decided that that computer science was the perfect fit for me after participating in Girls Who Code the summer of 2013. Not only do I love coding, but also enjoy playing the violin, making acrylic paintings, and hiking!

Favorite website / app:
My favorite website is Khan Academy because there are numerous times where I do not understand my notes and need additional material. Khan Academy has a wide range of material and is accessible to a large population around the world. I believe that education should be made available to everyone regardless of location and money and Khan Academy is leading the way in accomplishing just that.
12523127_959941804097324_7291600710277786606_n

Ideal Job:
I imagine my dream job to be collaborative and engaging. I imagine meeting new people and discussing new products and innovations. I imagine a ratio of one women to every man in my team and I imagine transforming my ideas into real social impact.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I want other young women to see the gender inequality in technology as a driving factor to be more determined and to work harder.  We should see it as a source of motivation rather than a reason to turn away. I encourage them to participate in their school’s robotics team even if they might be the only female member and I encourage them to remember that no one can make them feel inferior without their consent.
382116_10151292719832243_2025442185_n

Leave a Reply

