inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Sirrah Williams

IMG_8258 (1)

Everyone shines, given the right lighting.” – Susan Cain
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
IMG_8259 (1)

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I hail from all over the United States- being born in San Diego, and raised in Seattle. Married to an Army veteran (coupled with a deep love of travel) has led me to call Nashville, Philadelphia and now San Francisco, home! Now that we’ve settled and fallen in love with SF, I’ll be limiting any sort of travel to vacations only šŸ˜‰ I’m an animal lover to the extreme, and a hippie at heart.
IMG_8256My career trajectory thus far may epitomize my hard-working, yet go-with-the-flow spirit, as the mission and core values of a company or institution far outweigh the importance of attaining a specific job title. I was a practicing licensed therapist for a few years, but after relocating to Philadelphia, I fell into the diversity recruiting space for Wharton’s MBA Admissions Office. Now at Square, I hope to leverage my skills and passion for diversity to continue changing the landscape of women and underrepresented minorities in tech.
IMG_8257A fun fact about me: I’ve traveled through four continents and just booked a two-week trip through a fifth…Australia and New Zealand, I’ll see you next winter!
IMG_8249

What # would define your life journey?
#OneLove – sappy as it may be, it was my father’s “go to” phrase, and one that has resonated with me throughout all of life’s up’s and down’s. No matter how different we may be as individuals, the power and concept of love is universal.
IMG_8247

Favorite website / app:
It’s safe to say that I am addicted to HuffPo (on any platform), Blavity on Instagram, and……Nordstrom’s mobile app.
IMG_8254

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My maternal grandfather and father are both inspirations for me, as they imparted the value of education and reinforced the importance of intellectual curiosity. My father was the first generation to attend college, and was a black engineer at Boeing (when there weren’t many black people at the company, let alone engineers). My grandfather came from a rural community in central PA, and because of his thirst for knowledge and desire to make a positive impact in the community, he attended medical school and became a physician.
IMG_8253

Song that makes you want to dance:
Currently, “Birds” by Coldplay and “Hands To Myself” by Selena Gomez
IMG_8251

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
There are too many that come to mind but with any challenge that comes along, I have always tried to meet it (and beat it) with: 1) an attitude of optimism, 2) dogged persistence, and 3) seeking out resources that may help me to be successful.
IMG_8250

Ideal Job:
Professionally – Diversity Lead of a major tech company; Personally – helping to care for animals at a rescue sanctuary (anything and everything from dogs, to capybaras, goats, pigs, horses…you name it!)
IMG_8260

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I think Imposter Syndrome can cause us all to question ourselves at one point or another (whether personally or professionally), so for me, maintaining a balance of stretching myself (by trying new things), while also staying involved in activities/interests where I’m an “expert” or make me feel confident has been really important and helpful.
IMG_8255

Leave a Reply

