inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Khira Momodu

When you embrace your difference, your DNA, your look or heritage or religion or your unusual name, that’s when you start to shine.” – Bethenny Frankel
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m Khira Momodu. I was born in London, England and raised in Viva Las Vegas, Nevada. Growing up, I always knew I wanted to put a ding in the universe, but didn’t know how or what that ding might be. During my senior year of high school, I applied as a different major to every university and chose to study at Arizona State University as an Aerospace Engineering major because they offered me the most scholarships. I wanted to go out of state, and enjoyed the reactions whenever I told people I wanted to study engineering. After my first year at ASU, I became interested in computer science after watching a code.org video a friend’s Facebook wall. Before the start of my sophomore year, I changed my major to Industrial Engineering because I knew programming courses were on the major map and I wanted to see what programming was all about before I made the full commitment. Also, during my sophomore year, I attended the 2014 Grace Hopper. After attending the Celebration, I knew that Computer Science was for me and through this field I will put my ding in this universe.

Career fun facts:

  • Last summer I spent time in Washington interning with Boeing as a Programmer Analyst Intern.
  • This summer will be spent in bay, interning with Apple under the IS&T department and being a CODE2040 fellow.

Personal Fun Fact:

  • I am obsessed with Starbucks cups, mugs, and tumblers, but don’t drink coffee. I fill them all with water. 😀
  • I blog….sometimes. iamkhiramomodu.com

10827883_10203590806626462_1186972419541440361_o

What # would define your life journey?

#staywithit, #keepmovingforward, & #justbeingkhira. Life is short, sweet, and challenging. So why not be yourself?

Favorite website / app:
Spotify, Notability, DirectTV, Quora, iamkhiramomodu.com, apple.com ;D
10676139_10203211315579423_3038878550234129333_n

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My parents, Fatai & Becky Momodu. My parents moved my sister and I to the US live the American Dream and because of them I’ve received so many opportunities and am the road to living my dream. Aisha Momodu, Ginger Momodu (my dog), Erica Johnson, Tiffany Bob-Semple, Steve Jobs, Michelle Obama, Gabby Douglas, Jessica Mong, Chinaemere Ike, Fiona Yeung, Kaya Thomas, 2015 SONiC Workshop family, etc. Oooh & Kimberly Bryant, the walking goddess who challenges diversity in tech on a daily basis.
Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 10.08.07 AM

Song that makes you want to dance:
Anything pertaining to Afrobeats. Wizkid, Kiss Daniel, D’banj, etc.

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A technical challenge I faced was during my project entitled House of Code+50. This project was geared toward teaching senior civilians how to code. I noticed many organizations had already focused on informing K-12 students on the importance of learning how to code, so I decided against creating a project that targets that age range. Before moving any further with the project, I decided to use my grandmother to gauge what I was getting myself into. While teaching her I fell into in many different challenges that I was not expecting, such as technical communication problems and a lack of fundamental computer skills. After working with my Grandmother, I decided to reconstruct House of Code+50 and first get seniors comfortable with technology and seeing its benefits before getting them to code right off the bat.
Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 9.59.37 AM

Ideal Job:
For my 20’s: Product Manager or Software Engineer in the Valley.
For my 30’s: Running a non-profit organization relating to tech
For my 40’s: Teaching at a top university and doing research.
12115743_10205320182059767_6366325166584561644_n

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Surround yourself around those who inspire you, challenge you, and respect you. Also, remember to do you, be you, and love you!
12122912_10205274956169148_1915777016334673332_n

Leave a Reply

