inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Tenzing Pelky

Owning our story can be hard but not nearly as difficult as spending our lives running from it.” – Brene Brown
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My parents are from Tibet. I was born in Nepal and am currently living and working in New York City. I speak four languages and I am currently working on my fifth, which is Spanish.

I never grew up with a passion for technology where I saw myself making a career out of it; however, during my undergrad at Baruch College Zicklin School of Business,  I took a course on management information systems which garnered my interest. I currently work as a Technical Analyst at a healthcare company and am also pursuing my masters degree at NYU in Management of Technology and Innovation.

What # would define your life journey?
#bewatermyfriend  The only thing constant in life is change.

Favorite website / app:
thisiscolossal.com: an Art/Craft/Design/Photography blog

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
During my first review at this new job my manager told me: “I understand you come from a different cultural background, but you are in New York city now. Just sitting in the cubicle and working hard will not cut it anymore. You need to let your voice be heard.” This was something people always talked about but when you actually hear it directly from your boss, it hits you hard. Since then, I have learned to be more engaged with my team, contribute during meetings and pitch ideas to my manager fearlessly . Doing this helped me  tremendously because I realized that I wanted to work in another department, and by speaking out I was able to make the move.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Currently it is Middle by Djsnake ft biploarsunshine

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
These days you can get answers from google for anything . If that fails then I reach out to team members if they can assist.

Ideal Job:
Product Manager. However, I have realized that not only what you do is important but your manager and your company’s working culture is truly important for one to be content with their job. Ideally I would like to work for a company that is not only successful in what they do but is also making a positive impact in our world.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
This statistic might be familiar to all : Men apply for a job when they meet only 60% of the qualifications, but women apply only if they meet 100% of them. Do not doubt yourself: women need to have more faith in themselves. Hard work and having an open mind is the key.

One thought on “Women Who Reign: Tenzing Pelky

Leave a Reply

