inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Anyssa Buchanan

I do not try to dance better than anyone else. I only try to dance better than myself.” – Arianna Huffington
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a recent Boston University grad (BU 2015) and I currently work at Galen Healthcare Solutions (a healthcare IT company) in Boston, MA. I interned at Galen my last semester at BU and was fortunate enough to receive a job offer before commencement. I primarily work on data conversion projects aka moving a client’s data from their EHR (Electronic Health Record) source system to a new EHR.
IMG_2542

Growing up, I was a huge history buff and loved to write either poems or short stories during my free time. I remember the summer going into my Freshmen year of college, my dad asked me what I wanted to possibly study. Being only 18, I had absolutely no idea. My dad then asked me, “What about computer science?” I immediately dismissed him because I thought it was “too hard” and wasn’t for me ….needless to say I was wrong because here I am working in the tech industry. Funny how things turn out, isn’t it ?
thumb_IMG_6630_1024

To be honest my college experience was far from perfect. I had no idea what I wanted to study or do post grad. I hopped around a lot in terms of choosing a major / minor which scared me because up until then I always had a set plan in motion. Fast forward to Spring Semester Sophomore year, I enrolled in a CS class and fell in love. For some time, I thought about going into UI/UX Design because I enjoyed building websites as well as making mobile apps aesthetically pleasing. I applied to a six month UI/UX internship my senior year and didn’t get it..which sucked because I really wanted the job. A few weeks later, I got recruited by Galen, interviewed one day after my last final and received an internship offer. I almost ignored the initial email because I had no idea what “Healthcare IT” was nor did I want a career in “Healthcare IT” ….or so I thought. Much to my surprise, I enjoyed the data conversion work I was given as an intern to the point where I no longer had an interest in UI/UX Design. All I can say is, I’m glad I didn’t ignore the email.
IMG_4159

As for my fun fact, I was adopted from Lima, Peru, three months after I was born on Feb 24, 1993. My parents were always honest about my adoption and never hid anything from me which is pretty cool in my opinion. I do plan on traveling to my native country one day in the future. When I do, I will probably post one too many pictures on Instagram.
IMG_7521

What # would define your life journey?
#AlwaysBusy

Favorite website / app:
Website: Amazon.com. Amazon Prime – need I say more

App: Instagram of course! One of my favorite hobbies is baking, so I use instagram to share pictures of my creations. @anyssa_b24
IMG_9120

Song that makes you want to dance:
Sleep Sound – Jamie xx. It’s an upbeat song – I swear!

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
The main project I’m working on is moving from X source system to EPIC. Recently, I was troubleshooting errors for my project’s third round of validation. One outstanding issue focused on medication end dates and the medications’ inability to come over into epic’s reconcile list. I’m going to bore you with the details because I finally resolved this issue after weeks of implementing different logic so bare with me!

Anyway, only active medications can appear in the reconcile list. Active medications are flagged as being ‘Active’ by not having an end date in the past….pretty straightforward. The problem I was encountering showed active medications having an end date in the source system…which was weird because according to the UI the Active Medications had a blank End Date ….as expected because they’re Active. After a few hours of pounding my head against the wall, I realized it was a workflow error where a handful of Active Medications in the source system had an End Date. In order to fix this, I implemented logic to set a medication’s end date to NULL when a given medication is ‘active’ and has an end date in the past. Problem Solved!
IMG_8753

Ideal Job:
hmm. Probably work for another Healthcare IT company however one specializing in Oncology Data.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I would tell women to never give up even though it sounds probably very cliche and obvious…it’s the truth. If you don’t believe in yourself then no one will. I would also tell women to try something different and to ultimately “take the road less traveled.”

Don’t be ordinary, be extraordinary.
IMG_0976

Leave a Reply

