inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Glenna Buford

I’m always perpetually out of my comfort zone.” – Tory Burch
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Short form: I’m an iOS Engineer at Wooga in Berlin, Germany, currently working on the mobile game Jelly Splash. I’m Interested in game obstacle development and solutions for developing for iOS and Android simultaneously (that aren’t painful). In my spare time, I like speaking at events hosted by organizations like Women Who Code, or my most recent endeavor: organizing the first ever Girls Make Games workshop in Germany.

Fun Fact: When I was younger, I told my parents that I’d build a house on the land next to theirs, and build a covered walkway between our houses so we could visit each other, rain or shine! Look how that turned out…

What # would define your life journey?
#randomAF #badass

Favorite website / app:
Facebook messenger! I use it all day every day…and who doesn’t like sending a giant poop emoji to friends? Also, Slack, because it’s the best tool invented for team communication. By which I mean, for communicating with your team solely through giphy.
albie_on_keyboard

Song that makes you want to dance:
Something that can get me singing: Vegabond by Misterwives, totally speaks to me

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Um, any OpenGL bug I’ve ever faced. Debug logging before and after every openGL call. Also, very intense git bisects; I’m scrappy.

Ideal Job:
I wanna spread the good word of coding to people in rural areas, through workshops or whatever at local colleges. But, I want to keep learning as a dev for a while longer (I want it to be authentic when I’m standing in front of high school students and college students).
not_the_most_flattering_WWC

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Think for yourself. There have been many times when I’ve caught myself jumping in an argument and agreeing with the respected person on the team, but sometimes…they are just wrong. Take a step back, think for yourself, and only jump on the bandwagon if you believe it too. Otherwise, you need to voice your own concerns.

Leave a Reply

