inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Nishtha Dalal

If you just set out to be liked, you would be prepared to compromise on anything at any time, and you would achieve nothing.” – Margaret Thatcher
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a 22 year old designer but I started out as a web developer. When I was interning as a UI Developer for Oracle I realized I don’t want to be the person building what someone else has designed, but I want to be the person that crafts these experiences. It has been a challenge to get rid of the “developer” label even though I have been doing design projects since over 2 years. I’ve been lucky enough to be a designer at the HCI lab in my university (empathicdesignandtech.org), where my professor has been kind enough to let me explore and understand design for the last year.

I love the EdTech space, and have two projects that are very dear to me. I am co-founder and product designer of AutoGradr and Schedulr. AutoGradr an automated assessment solution for programming assignment, that is currently being built at Drexel University, and is incubated at the Baiada Incubator (http://drexel.edu/close/news/announcements/2016/January/Grading%20the%20Future/). AutoGradr’s goal is to enhance both, the learning, and teaching experience in programming courses.

Schedulr helps students at Drexel University build their perfect scheduler (getschedulr.com), and has over 6000 users with $0 spent on marketing. With my co-founder, I hope to bring these two products under one company, and make an impact to the average college student.

Check out some of my work at nishthadalal.com
DalalNishtha

Favorite website / app:
My favorite app lately has been the Quartz news app. Their latest redesign takes an innovative approach to news with their product design.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
I deeply admire Julie Zhou (https://medium.com/@joulee), who is the director of product design at Facebook. It’s an enormous challenge to design a product that is widely used across the globe by people of kinds, coming from various, extremely polar cultural values and backgrounds. To design for such a large population, and create a recognizable identity that works for everyone is a great achievement.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Shake it off by Taylor Swift
IMG_1832

Ideal Job:
Product designer

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
To all the women, and everyone out there, don’t let anyone make you feel like you don’t fit in because you don’t fit the stereotypical description, whether it’s in tech or anywhere else. You go do you, own it and REIGN it 🙂

Leave a Reply

