inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Kat Slump

The challenge is not to be perfect…it’s to be whole.” – Jane Fonda
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Kat Slump and I am a junior IT Innovation major at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. I am very passionate about tech, startups, and kittens (heh). I currently work as a Software Engineering intern at Flywheel, WordPress Hosting for Designers and Agencies.

Fun fact: I named my kitten Swift. ALL of my friends think she was named after Taylor Swift, but she was really named after the programming language! (Nerd at heart <3)

What # would define your life journey?
9- A lot of people say that because my name is Kat, it means I have 9 lives. I like to think they’re right 🙂 I keep this in mind when I am afraid to take a risk (a reasonable one). The number keeps me in check and is a reminder that it is ok to fail.

Favorite website / app:
Instagram- follow me!!! @KatSlump

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My parents- they’ve really engrained the idea that if you work smart and hard, you can do anything you put your mind to.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Blank Space- still!!!

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Honestly, coding didn’t “click” until just recently. It took an intense summer internship, several college courses, and studying Cracking the Code for hours before it all really made sense. However, it was all worth it. I can now switch between programming languages with ease.

Ideal Job:
Working at a company where I am passionate about the product, surrounded by brilliant and passionate people, making an impact on the world.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Take risks and fail. Do it. I dare you! By shaking hands with failure, many times we are saying “hello” to success.

Leave a Reply

