inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Alexandra Qin

You have trust in what you think. If you splinter yourself and try to please everyone, you can’t.” – Annie Leibovitz
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I was born and raised in Paris, France. I moved to New York to attend NYU, where I fell in love with code and majored in Computer Science. Since then, I’ve also become extremely passionate about education and teaching. I’ve been teaching children and adults to code for almost two years now with great organizations like ScriptEd, Women Who Code, Coalition for Queens, and Technovation I recently joined the Skillshare engineering team, where I get to help build an awesome product that has a great impact on continuing education.

Fun fact: last summer I helped build an urban farm in Brooklyn where the Domino Sugar Factory used to be.
reign1

What # would define your life journey?
#socialjusticewarrior

Favorite website / app:
Skillshare, Classpass and Soundcloud

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
Bell Hooks. Shanley Kane, Ashe Dryden, Ellen Pao, Julie Ann Horvath

Bell Hooks: “I will not have my life narrowed down. I will not bow down to somebody else’s whim or to someone else’s ignorance.”

Song that makes you want to dance:
Jamie xx – I Know There’s Gonna Be (Good Times) ft. Young Thug & Popcaan
aq2

A challenge in tech you’ve faced and how you overcame it?
For a long time it was hard for me to overcome others’ and my own perceptions of what it meant to be a “good” engineer. I almost gave up on programming a few times because I didn’t think I was meant for it. And that was due to some subtle and not so subtle messages I was getting from the tech community about who “should” be an engineer. I decided I was going to remain in engineering, and do everything in my power to change the environment, so that other underrepresented people in tech might not have to go through the same experiences. That’s how I started teaching.

Ideal Job:
Software Engineer at Skillshare!
I’m very lucky to be able to join my passion for code and for education at Skillshare. In the future, I hope to widen the impact I have on Education, in whatever way that may be.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Give back. The only way for any of us to truly reign is if we all reign together.
reign2

Leave a Reply

