inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Jade Murphy

You can’t grow if you aren’t deeply rooted. Find your footing and flourish. – Alex Elle
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Jade Murphy and I am a Junior Information Systems major at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I am the funniest introvert you will ever meet. I was born in North Carolina, and spent most of my life there as well. I moved to Virginia before I started high school, and this is when my love for tech started! I had a teacher, Ms. Stevens, who noticed my love for tech before I did, and everything she’s taught or said to me has stayed with me throughout my journey. I started out wiping RAMs and repairing CPU’s, and my knowledge of tech (hardware and software AND coding) has definitely grown since then.

Everything I do is involved with tech (mostly, not sleep however). I teach kids about tech, coding, new innovate tech games or devices – you name it. I even assisted in founding my University’s first Association of Information Systems student chapter. I currently serve as Vice President. It’s an amazing experience, and I’ve definitely met some amazing people along the way. I thoroughly enjoy being a #techgirl, there’s nothing else like it!

My eyes change colors depending on my mood.
yDO_kLDb3NvEbY1TqIU1R_E2jAV2ndVwduTVTRElwtp6iy98Fn2OFABTG6uj5nYexmzNHA=s2048

What # would define your life journey?
#journeywisely

Favorite website / app:
Tumblr – can’t get enough of it.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My mother inspires me the most. She has always supported me no matter what, and always encourages me to be great and exceed expectations. She’s an awesome support system!

Song that makes you want to dance:
That’s a tough one – right now, it would probably be Work by Rihanna.
WcKmtGGLwFjGcNvTlTCbp_Pfjg4rEUOpqWpgrgNN2qhqV_fEACZBpC0lpKJODa-4qvHFSw=s2048

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Being a woman, a woman of color more specifically, and being treated lesser than in general and in the technical field as well. I don’t pay attention to the stigma or stereotypes thrown against me, I just let my dedication and work ethic show what I am capable of. I myself know that I am capable of so much and I am confident enough to let that show. That is the moment when everyone’s jaw drops – it’s priceless.

I have also struggled with being able to learn or take on new challenges. Things can be very intimidating, but how you approach it definitely says a lot. I didn’t think i could build an entire database for my University’s School of Business & Economics – but I did. After speaking things into existence and working hard, I know that I can do anything I put my mind to.

Ideal Job:
Happy.. doing something I love (tech), in an innovative and fun environment with people I can learn from and grow with.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I encourage women to take control of their circumstances and make the most out of what’s given. You get back in life what you give, and following that mantra has helped me in every aspect of my life. Also, it’s okay to not be sure of every step of your life. Life is all about growth, every opportunity or obstacle is a chance for growth – be willing to embrace it!
L50TCcTHGq6Nhu80x3DpuhQgWw-c4kdOs5wMtPP4y8CdONUlI-G4-H58hAH5nYgUTYi6Mw=s2048

Leave a Reply

