inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Andrea Coravos

“You’ll be surprised to know how far you can go from the point where you thought was the end.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Currently, I’m the co-founder and co-president of CODE at Harvard Business School and a DevBootcamp graduate. I’m also on the Board of Directors for VisionSpring. Previously, I was an associate at KKR Capstone, spending most of my time on healthcare and energy-oriented companies. I also worked for McKinsey & Company, where I focused on financial services and healthcare companies. I graduated from Duke and wrote a thesis on credit scoring and another on female surname selection. I grew up in a big Greek-Irish New England family.

What # would define your life journey?
#ThisIsWater

Favorite website / app:
Sublime Text
Screenshot 2016-03-27 18.39.08

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
This is a huge list. I’ve been fortunate to have many inspiring people in my life. Recently, I’ve been inspired by “accidental activist” and current Pinterest engineer, Tracy Chou. She has one of the most empowering and thought-provoking Twitter feeds. She’s a fantastic speaker and presented at WECode this year.

Song that makes you want to dance:
I’m a not-so-secret Taylor Swift fan. I can dance to nearly everything she’s ever written.

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Getting comfortable with being uncomfortable. My biggest lesson was figuring out how to be “comfortable with uncertainty” and learning how I could piece together parts of the answer, even if I wasn’t 100% sure it was right as I built it.
Screenshot 2016-03-27 18.39.52

Ideal Job:
On the professional front, as an executive growing a company that’s solving an important problem in our society, likely using behavioral and cognitive technologies in healthcare. On the home front, as a mom supporting her family.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I love this reflection from Cheryl Strayed: “Don’t surrender all your joy for an idea you used to have about yourself that isn’t true anymore.”
Screenshot 2016-03-27 18.40.26

Leave a Reply

