inspiration

Women Who Reign: Annyce Davis

latest_head_shot_croppedAnnyce is an Android Google Developer Expert. She has been in the software industry for over a decade, and has spent the past 5 years developing applications for the Android ecosystem across multiple form factors. She is also a national conference speaker and author, sharing her knowledge of Android development with others. In addition, Annyce is active in the Washington, DC tech scene and assists with running a local meetup focused on Android development and design. Find out more about what she is doing by following her on Twitter at @brwngrldev and her blog www.adavis.info.

“Don’t give up easily on your dreams, if something seems difficult for you to grasp initially maybe try another way to learn it. If you can’t follow the book, watch a video, join a study group, just be inventive!” – Annyce Davis

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

20160318_095458-1Fun Fact:

I share my home office with a Chinese Water Dragon!

 

What # would define your life journey?

#alwayslearning

 

Favorite website / app:
Favorite website is Twitter, it has transformed my career. Truly invaluable for expanding your tech circle!

 

annyceSomeone who inspires Annyce and knowledge they have imparted:
I’m really inspired by my two best friends. They help me to come back to reality. Sometimes I feel overwhelmed with how much there is to learn and do. They remind me to appreciate what I have accomplished and just tackle one thing at a time. They are my key to staying grounded and sane 😉

 

Song that makes Annyce want to dance:
A Little Party Never Killed Nobody – Fergie, Q-Tip

 

me_photo_shoot_wocintech
#wocintechchat

A challenge Annyce faced and how she overcame it:

In high school I took my first Computer Science class. I struggled so much with the content and barely passed it at all. I had wanted to be a Computer Programmer ever since I could remember and I felt that I might have to give up that dream. When I was accepted to the Computer Engineering program in college, I decided that I would put everything I had into my first Computer Science class there and if I didn’t get an “A” then I would move on to something else. I worked extremely hard in that class, never missed a  day, went to office hours, did all the homework and…I received the best grade in the class. So that was my turning point for me, I knew I had what it takes to pursue programming as a career and I’m so glad that I did!

 

Smilebox_3882182679Ideal Job:

I want to work on things that challenge me, push me to evolve my processes and thought patterns. Any job that does this is ideal for me.

 

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?

Don’t give up easily on your dreams, if something seems difficult for you to grasp initially maybe try another way to learn it. If you can’t follow the book, watch a video, join a study group, just be inventive!

12309753_1013605815362169_2220895432209450283_o

Leave a Reply

