inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Leticia Sanchez

“It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed” – Theodore Roosevelt
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Leticia Sanchez; I am a senior Computer Science student at California State University Monterey Bay. I am also part of a rigorous program call CS-in-3, which allow me to obtain my BS in 3 years. I was born in California, and was taken to live in Mexico when I was two years old and I returned 18 years later. As soon I came here, I completed my GED and enrolled into a local Community College to start taking ESL classes. I enrolled to learn English with the goal of earning a degree, getting a better job, and improving my life. It was important to me to show my family that education is an important key in life, specially as a woman.

As a Computer Science student, I had the opportunity to attend many different hackathons and conference such as GHC (Grace Hopper Conference) where I was very fortunate to be a GHC-scholar. Last year I did my first internship with a startup company name Heavy Connect, where I had the opportunity to learn more.

As a fun fact, I always dream of myself working in any big and prestigious company.

What # would define your life journey?
#BelieveInYourSelf

Favorite website / app:
My favorite app is Snapchat and Pinterest
LeticiaSanchez

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
The person who inspire me the most is my mom. She teaches me to be a hard worker, to pursue my dream, and never give up. She worked at the lettuce fields for more than 28 years, in order to provide me and my brothers everything that we need. Being a single mother of 4 children was not an easy job; however, she demonstrated that with a lot of effort, dedication, hard work and perseverance you can achieve anything that you propose in life.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Sugar from Maroon 5

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
As a computer science student and English learner I faced and still deal sometimes with some trouble’s integrating what I had learned and solving problems quickly. Some of the steps I am taking to fix this challenge is to practice solving more problems, I am using some websites to practice, as well Cracking the Code book.

Ideal Job:
Working at a Company that values your work, and gives you opportunity to grow as a Software Engineer, as well be sounded by passionate people that want to make a huge impact in the world.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
To take the risk, BELIEVE in yourself, and make great things for the world. Never it is too late to learn and change the world!

Leave a Reply

