inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Tarlon Khoubyari

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am currently an Information Systems and Supply Chain Management freshman at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Over the past few years I’ve had the incredible privilege of working with children and doing my part to inspire the next generation of innovators to explore the diversity of technology. When I started my first year of college, I wanted to share my passion for technology to college students.  I was then elected the Vice President of STARS Computing Corps and helped lead a Ed-Tech series for students K-12, MyTechLife. The MyTechLife allowed me gain an understanding of how kids work and added fuel to my enthusiasm. I also started the Association of Information Systems Student Chapter at my university. It is a student organization run by students for students to prepare them for the next steps of their careers, create lasting partnerships with business professionals, and organize a network where students can seek support from their classmates. I want to continue sharing my passion while learning as much as I can about technology and computer science.

What # would define your life journey?
#FamilyOverEverything

I’ve always been close with my family and having their support has inspired me to continue my pursuit of being a woman in IT. I am challenged, loved, and supported by each and everyone of them. Their unconditional love and guidance has played an integral role in my development as a woman, student, and person. It’s incredibly helpful to have people in my corner who have gone through similar experiences as I have. They really help put things into perspective and have helped build my confidence in my abilities.
IMG_0203 (1)

Who inspires you?
My mom is my biggest inspiration. She is the epitome of strength, beauty, and courage. My mom has been one of the largest support systems in my life and has never failed to show kindness to everyone she meets. She has the ability to be resilient even in times of hardship.

Favorite website / app:
Poshmark is one of my favorite apps/websites because I usually don’t like to keep clothes in my closet that I don’t wear. It’s nice because I get to make some extra cash as well as sharing my style with others. Poshmark makes it extremely easy to sell clothes that are sitting in your closet and buy things for cheaper.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Paris Nights/ New York Mornings – Corinne Bailey Rae

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
One of the challenges I’ve had to face was the ability to adapt to change. After moving from Michigan to California to North Carolina, I have been accustomed to change and it’s made me stronger. It was extremely hard to adjust to new environments but the times where I was alone I grew the most. Moving opened so many doors for me and now I embrace change. When it comes to planning lessons or events, I have to be able to change because sometimes mistakes happen or the children lose interest. I have to be quick on my feet to find solutions in order to help the situation.
IMG_0284

Ideal job:
In 10 years, I hope to be a better learner. It’s too soon for me to say what I want to do exactly because I want to absorb as much as I can right now. I like to call this stage of my life the “sponge stage” because I want to pick up whatever I can and be able to discard the things that aren’t so relevant. To an 18 year-old, 10 years seems like forever because 10 years ago I was 8 and I had no idea what I was doing. In the upcoming 10 years, I want to be doing something with education or working with the immense amounts of data that are coming in.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Be your own best friend and embrace times of loneliness.  Loneliness can be scary but taking the time to reflect and being honest with yourself can help you realize so many things about yourself you didn’t even know. If it weren’t for times of solitude, I wouldn’t have thought that I loved teaching children. I grew the most when I was forced to be alone and when I, literally, sat myself down and reflected on what I want to do. You aren’t clouded with expectations and you don’t limit yourself that way.
IMG_0181

Leave a Reply

