inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Kahli Marie Holmes

The meaning of life is to give life a meaning.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’ll start with the Fun Fact: Growing up, I was a band groupie.

Ok, not really … although there is some truth to the statement. I’m the daughter of two down-to-earth Austinite hippies, one whom is a Musician that just so happens to work alongside some pretty well-known people in the music industry. So, I was often backstage at my dad’s shows, enjoying front row seats and free food!

So, you could say music was (and still is) a big part of my life. Nonetheless, I discovered something else during my pre-adult years … I had a brain! A smart one at that, one that loved challenges and learning new things everyday. This landed me a golden ticket to the University of Texas at Austin, where I’m currently a Senior earning a B.S. in Computer Science. After I graduate this May, I’m set to work as a Software Engineer for an Austin-local company: Spiceworks.

Aside from all of that, I enjoy dogs, hiking, rock climbing, adventures, sewing, and being a member of the UT Steel Band!
12088418_10206526563697123_1368152554245049691_n

What # would define your life journey?
#IveNeverUsedHashtags
This probably makes me the only person in the tech industry who doesn’t keep up with the latest social media trends. (Sigh). But, in relation to the question, I think it accurately describes my life. I live simple, and take part in the fun of life instead of spending whatever time it takes to put it into a hashtag.

Favorite website / app:
I think YouTube is pretty remarkable. And Google Keep. I could never keep track of things otherwise.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
My 2 dogs inspire me everyday. I wake each morning to wagging tails and end my day coming home to pure canine excitement. After long nights of coding, a day of headaches, school, work, or whatever comes my way, I have comfort animals warming my feet and keeping me at peace. Not the conventional answer, I know, but I strive to live my life with the happiness and energy that my dogs show me everyday.
jamie_me

Song that makes you want to dance:
Walk – Foo Fighters

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Oddly enough, the biggest technical challenges I’ve faced, aren’t really technical challenges at all.

The most memorable challenge I can recall is a short period of time when I doubted myself, and my intellectual ability. I remember that lack of confidence not only hindering my state of mind, but the work I put on the table. I eventually overcame this phase with time and hard work, and a simple realization that you should never fear what you don’t know.

Ideal Job:
After a few years in the industry, I believe the ideal job for me would be to freelance/work remote and take my work with me wheresoever I choose to go.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Live simple. Work hard. Believe in you. Follow your heart, and smile along the way …
1973838_10200901057249054_991338901_o

Leave a Reply

