inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: April Ai

“Good things come to those who wait. But better things come to those who work for it.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!

Hello! My name is April and I’m a CS major at Arizona State University. I’m an avid cold brew drinker and Quora user. I listen to a lot of music and check out #DiscoverWeekly and #NewMusicFriday religiously. This summer I’m excited to be in NYC and working in #FinTech. In the past, I worked at Target on their API services team. Prior to Target, I did a summer fellowship at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Aside from programming, I also really care about social causes and education. I participated in CGIU 2014 and was selected to showcase my social venture at the symposium. I just hope that I’ll be able to fulfill all my dreams and always do what makes me happy.

Fun facts:
– My friends think I’m the most outgoing person they know, but I think I’m kind of shy at times.
– I’m obsessed with french bull dogs and lop ear bunnies.
– I like tacos, concerts, hikes, Boulder Colorado, trivia nights, and polaroid pictures.

What # would define your life journey?
#YOLO
Sounds cliché but unless you’re a cat, you only have one life and you should live it to your fullest!
and
#NoShame
This kind of goes along with #YOLO but I’m just very comfortable and accepting of myself.
10635867_10203001431693142_7691462107917925597_n

Favorite website / app:
Snapchat
The new update is so awesome and the puppy filter is my favorite! (∩▂∩)

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
There are so many people who inspire me, that it would be too long to list. Recently, I had the pleasure of listening to Humans of New York #HONY (Brandon Stanton) speak at my University and it was such an inspiring and relatable talk. He really helped me have a better understanding of the type of job I want and to have the courage to approach anyone and listen to their story.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Any song by ODESZA but especially their remix of “Faded” by Zhu

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Actually very recently, our sponsor for my senior capstone project made a drastic change in our requirements and we basically have to scrap everything that we had already completed and start over mid semester. We are a very agile team and took the new requirements and ran with it. We made quick moves to meet with an expert on the new requirements and then started working immediately on a new code base.

Ideal Job:
Preferably a small and collaborative work environment with a flexible schedule. I want to work on interesting stuff with brilliant and passionate people who love to learn. Also I want to be able to use technology to help improve the world. More specifically, I am currently interested in front end development and design.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t be afraid of failure, in fact fail more often. I would rather have failed at something instead of never having the courage to try at it.
Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 2.03.47 AM

Leave a Reply

