inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Billie Wei

You become what you believe.
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Billie Wei and I’m a junior at Harvard studying Computer Science. On campus, I am deeply involved in Harvard Undergraduate Women in CS, which is one of my dearest communities. This past February, I co-chaired a conference called Women Engineers Code where 500 women from over 40 colleges came to experience two days of workshops, panels, and talks meant to empower them to become leaders in this field. I also mentor for Girls Who Code, and am very involved in advocating for women in computer science. In my free time, I enjoy intramural rowing and I love going to brunch at new restaurants and cafes with my friends!

What # would define your life journey?
#abundance  – Looking at the world from the perspective that it is abundant and full and beautiful has been very beneficial for me. It makes me feel grateful for all the opportunities and support I’ve had as well as remind me to make the most of the privileges I have gained through my education, and I think this is important to carry into whatever I do.
img_8010

Song that makes you want to dance:
Here Comes the Sun – The Beatles

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
One challenge I’ve faced is learning when to step up in a group. Sometimes, when there is no clearly defined direction for a team, it’s easy to fall into a cycle of not knowing what to do next or not being able to come up with clear targets. I was working with a group at school last year where this was the case, and I think overcoming a challenge like this really requires you to observe the group dynamics, figure out how interactions are productive or unproductive, and then devise methods of shaping the conversation so that it becomes more effective in advancing team goals.

Ideal Job:
My ideal job involves bringing people together and maximizing their potential in order to create innovative products and change. I enjoy thinking of ways to solve problems and I feel very fulfilled when I have a positive impact on the lives and wellbeing of the people around me.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Sometimes you have to think of creative ways to do what I call “poking the universe” and seeing what happens. Life is too short not to create your own interesting diversions. Sit down for one hour and write a list of wonky things you could do just to see what would happen. One thing a friend of mine has done is go around to different restaurants and cafes asking for free food since she loves trying new food. Surprisingly, the response was much more in the positive than she expected!

Leave a Reply

