#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Tianna Edwards

“Sometimes you find yourself in the middle of nowhere, and sometimes in the middle of nowhere, you find yourself.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I love reading  Shakespeare and manga!

What # would define your life journey?
#youmadeitthisfar #keepgoing #stayalive

Favorite website / app:
Website: Google Scholar
App: Subway Surfer

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
Joseph Meyer, a past tutor at my University (UMass Dartmouth) was instrumental in my successful integration into my first year. He was very encouraging and gave me so much valuable advice about my major and what internships I should be interested in pursing. He had a lot of faith in what he thought I was capable of doing, and although I couldn’t really see all the potential he did, it gave me so much motivation to strive for the goals he had set for me.

My mother, of course always imparts the most relevant and impactful life advice that a young lady could ask for! She is forever my cheerleader, my pick me up, and motivation to succeed. As long as I can make that woman smile, I have done a great job!

Song that makes you want to dance:
One Dance – Drake
Duele El Corazon – Enrique Iglesias
Am I Wrong – Vidya

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A technical challenge I currently face is finding sponsorship for a capstone idea that a fellow peer and I have spent time developing. The challenge involves synthesizing replacement ligaments and we are finding it hard to encourage world leaders in that filed to support our idea and assist us in making it a reality. We have not given up and continue to modify and improve upon our project. We will find alternatives to what we need and we can always adjust given any circumstance.

Ideal Job:
I would love to be the head orthopaedic surgeon at the hospital I work at!

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
If you can take the lead, do it! It is very intimidating when you go into a situation and you see no reflections of yourself, but just think about it: someone had to start doing it first! So please, be an example for the younger ladies to follow. It may feel like you are under a microscope and people may be waiting for you to make a mistake, but just keep shining as brightly as you already are! Give them all something to really talk about! Be beautiful, courageous, and smart! And always try something new, just find nice people that are more than willing to help you learn.

Leave a Reply

