#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Jordan Harvey-Morgan

“Don’t look back – you’re not going that way.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I just graduated from Spelman College with a degree in Mathematics and I will be pursuing a second bachelors in Computer Engineering in the fall. I am originally from Detroit and my favorite TV show is Veronica Mars.

Fun Fact: Tacos are my favorite food.

What # would define your life journey?
#SolidarityIsForWhiteWomen

As a feminist Black woman in today’s society it is hard for me to accept the double standards placed upon women of color.

Favorite website / app:
Netflix. Grace and Frankie is one of my favorite shows!
IMG_3753

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
I know it’s cliche, but my mother always told me to speak up, even if it makes others uncomfortable. Growth only happens when the boundaries are pushed.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Beyonce – Formation

Technical challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I spent a year studying at Dartmouth College, which was a completely different environment from Spelman (an HBCU). I had a hard time adjusting to the social and academic environment. I eventually made really good friends that helped ease some of the difficulties I was having. I also changed my study habits and my time at Dartmouth ended up being a really good experience.

Ideal Job:
I have entrepreneurial aspirations, so I would like to run my own company.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Always advocate for yourself. No one is going to have your back like you do.
26898_1275730974037_1252830219_30858730_79685_n

Leave a Reply

