#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Rose Simmons

“Promote what you love instead of bashing what you hate.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a graduate student going into my final year of a BS/MS program in Computational Sciences, Engineering and Mathematics at The University of Texas at Austin. That’s quite the mouthful but basically I am applying computer science to problems in research and different scientific disciplines. For example, this last semester I took a course on cardiac modeling and simulation which involved concepts across a huge amount of fields (biology, physics, engineering, math, etc). Right now, I am interning at Square for the second summer and have worked on teams in both Platform Engineering and Risk and Security.

Fun fact: I have an awesome mentee I am working with this summer through GirlsWhoCode

What # would define your life journey?
#ohtheplacesyoullgo

Maybe a bit long for a hashtag but the world always needs some more Dr. Seuss wisdom. I never planned (or imagined) the places I’d end up, people I’d meet, and things I’d do and I’m looking forward to what’s to come.
10397236_10202778619761372_6845771416290960582_o

Favorite website / app:
Google Maps is still my most used app by far. I love to travel and I am always on the go, but rarely know exactly where I’m going…

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted (if any):
It’s really easy to find things to stress over in your life but, for me, it only takes a call or note from my grandmother to put things in perspective. She inspires me to stay positive and encourages me to only make choices in my life that will ultimately make me happier.
11884641_10205778911726796_2727407991532431638_o

Song that makes you want to dance:
We Didn’t Start the Fire by Billy Joel

Ideal Job:
In 10 years, I hope my work can have a positive human impact. Improving accessibility to things like education, clean water, etc. are issues that we should be focusing a lot more of technology on.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Always try, no matter what. The majority of my opportunities in my life (work, school, etc) I did not expect to get at all. When I was a freshman in college, I threw caution to the wind and applied for an internship in Hong Kong (and got it to my surprise!). It was one of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had and it really convinced me to put myself out there even if I think I have no chance. It is super easy to be self-defeating and use our fear of failure as an excuse, but being rejected (for anything) should have zero bearing on your self-worth. To me, a sea of rejection emails is a sign of effort and not of failure.
295026_2029567293601_6151573_n

Leave a Reply

