inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Cynthia Yin

“A goal without a plan is just a wish.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I grew up right outside Los Angeles and am currently a rising junior at Stanford University studying Computer Science. This summer, I’m working at Juniper Networks as a Software Engineering Intern. I’m also the Director of Marketing for Spectra Hackathon (we just recently hosted a very successful inaugural hackathon!) and the VP of External Affairs for Stanford Society of Women Engineers (SWE) where I helped start our Women of SWE initiative.

Fun fact: I played piano competitively for nine years when I was younger, and had the opportunity to perform at Carnegie Hall when I was ten years old.
Piano

What # would define your life journey?
#nevergiveup – Despite any struggles I may encounter, I have always tried to maintain a positive and optimistic attitude. So many obstacles may come my way, but I somehow manage to find a reason to continue on and overcome these barriers each and every time.

Favorite website / app:
My favorite mobile app is Snapseed by far. As someone who loves travel and photography, Snapseed is a convenient way for me to edit my travel photos on my phone without worrying about the complications of any desktop software. I use Snapseed to create the aesthetic on my Instagram account 🙂

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I am incredibly indebted to Scott Holloway, my AP Physics teacher, for his unending support throughout my high school years and beyond. Besides teaching my classmates and I about physics, he stayed for hours after school as the advisor for our Robotics/Physics Club and imparted so much wisdom about life to us. His passion for teaching and working with students was deservingly recognized with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching last year. When I was preparing for college interviews during my senior year, he encouraged me to portray myself as someone who is “positive, eager, and ambitious.” I remind myself of these words everyday.
Stanford

Song that makes you want to dance:
My favorite song switches up every time I hear something new that I like – my current fave is Closer ft. Halsey by the Chainsmokers.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
My entire life, and even now, I have been constantly trying to figure out who I am and what my true passions are. Before college, I wanted to be an astronaut, then an astrophysicist, then a physicist, then an engineer. In my two years in college, I switched from studying Electrical Engineering to Computer Science. And now, I’m figuring out what area of Computer Science I would like to focus on, as well as how I want to apply this knowledge in my future career. I don’t have all the answers, but I know it’s critical that I maintain an open mind and be receptive to new ideas and opportunities.

Ideal Job:
I have no idea what career path I’ll go down over the next decade, but I know I want to be at a place in my life where I’m happy and doing something impactful that matters.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
As Mary Oliver wrote in her poem The Summer Day, “Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” Never forget the big picture. It’s easy to get caught up in the day-to-day routine of school or work and forget the beauty of life. Do the things you’re passionate about, never settle for less. Be kind, be humble, be open to change. Cherish your friendships, new and old, because these will be the people you will fall back on and who will support you especially when you need it. Don’t stop dreaming and always stay true to yourself. If things aren’t great, I promise you they will get better. These all sound cliché but they’re only Tumblr quotes on your screen until you grow up and realize the truth in all of them. I wish I could have made my teenage self understand all of this.
Yosemite

Leave a Reply

