#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Savannah Lim

“Be who you were created to be and you will set the world on fire.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I grew up in Minnesota, where I spent the short summers mostly reading and drawing. I was fascinated with books and catalogs that included colorful diagrams and developed a slight obsession for neatly organized things. Going into college, I chose to study computer science, along with digital art and design. I like the idea of being able to build something quickly, precisely, and with compartments. I also love creating graphics. The combination of these two subjects has been fascinating to me.

And currently, I’m a visual design intern at Square in San Francisco!

Fun fact: I’ve always been really involved with music, from classical piano to a cappella vocal jazz. I’ve also started experimenting with electronic music!
piano (1)

What # would define your life journey?
#TodayIsTheDay

Favorite website / app:
http://thegreatdiscontent.com/
http://waitbutwhy.com/
collage

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Elle Luna is a painter and designer whose writing has inspired me so much. She champions the message of following your true calling and embracing the unknown.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Go For It by CRUISR
shoes

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
When I first started to code, I was disheartened by how confusing it seemed. I felt as if programming didn’t come as naturally to me as it did to my peers (many of whom had already been coding for years). I almost believed that I simply wasn’t meant for it. I took a break from computer science classes for a semester, while finishing other requirements. During that time, I relentlessly practiced programming concepts until I felt more comfortable proceeding with CS studies. Still, it took a while for me to believe in myself, even though I was able to help my classmates with their assignments. Through months of determination, lots of frustration, and a firm refusal to give up, I was able to reach the day that everything clicked, patterns gained a second-nature familiarity, and concepts fell into place. Learning to program is a difficult task, but with perseverance, it is completely possible.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
You will be surprised by the things you can do, so please never let doubt discourage you from reaching for something amazing. Be kind to everyone. Be kind to yourself.

Leave a Reply

