inspiration

Women Who Reign: Fiona Liang

When you love what you have, you have everything you need.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Fiona Liang. I’ve lived in Brooklyn all my life. I’m currently majoring in Computer Science as a Sophomore at Binghamton University.

I participated in the Pre-College program at the Flatiron School in NY along with Karlie Kloss (main profile pic), taking software engineering classes and later on interned there for a little! It was an amazing experience especially since I wasn’t allowed to take AP Computer Science in high school.

Fun Facts: I used to be a competitive figure skater! I wanted to become a lawyer until I did the Girls Who Code Summer Immersion Program in 2014. I fell in love with Computer Science and the STEMinist movement.
IMG_9279What # would define your life journey?
#Fail would probably be the hashtag that would define my life journey. Most people think of the word as an actual failure or disappointment that happened to them. They usually pertain this to something extremely negative, I’ve also done the same. But as I’ve gotten older, experienced many obstacles and continue to learn from my mistakes, I’ve learned to take a more positive outlook on life. I use this word as my drive to never give up in my goals, I’ve redefined it as “First Attempt In Learning” rather than an actual lack of success. You can never actually fail if you’re passionate and hardworking at what you do ! 🙂

Favorite website / app:
My favorite websites would probably be Medium and Pinterest. I love decorating and doing arts and crafts to relieve stress so I go to Pinterest for a lot of ideas on DIYs and stuff like that. I go on Medium.com whenever I get a chance to sit down and read. My father always told me that it’s always important to expand your perspective and to always be open minded. I found that reading people’s short stories and experiences in life have allowed me to do this. It’s crazy how so many people’s stories connect with my own and I always take something away from their writing whenever I finish reading something.

My favorite app would probably be Instagram. I love looking at my friends’ photos, connect with them and see what they’re up to. Plus it’s been helping me sharpen up my photography skills 😉 !
IMG_8082

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Probably everyone I’ve met at Girls Who Code and my Alpha Omega Epsilon sisters. I’ve never met women that were so motivated and passionate in helping each other grow and become more confident academically and personally. I’ve watched them all do so many amazing things like: taking on internships at big companies where majority of employees are male, create and lead their own hackathons, teach and inspire younger girls how to code, and so much more. They motivate me to keep pushing for my goals and dreams!

Song that makes you want to dance:
Cold Water by Major Lazer feat Justin Bieber! It gives me so many summer time vibes these days and what girl doesn’t love Justin Bieber?! Haha

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A really difficult challenge I’ve faced recently was my first Computer Science course at college. I was in this huge lecture hall and there were probably only four girls including me in the class. I suffered from a huge inferiority complex, and lost a lot of self confidence in my coding skills and my technical abilities. There came a point where I didn’t think CS was for me anymore…But after talking to some of my friends who are also women doing CS in college, I realized that they experienced the same exact thing. I knew that I needed to have more faith and confidence in myself. I grew more confident, attempting to answer my professor’s questions in class, going to tutor when I needed it, coding on my own, and just doing everything I could to make myself confident. Towards the end of the semester, I’ve never felt better.
KarlieKlossScholarship

Ideal Job:
I hope to take a leadership role in the tech industry. Possibly do UX/UI Design or Project Management. But who knows? There’s going to be so many things that I’ll be learning in the next few years, There’s going to be so many doors and opportunities that will open, I’m just going to “go with the flow” and see where life takes me!

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Some good advice I can tell my fellow STEMinists and coding princesses: Believe in yourself and your capabilities! The only person stopping you from getting to your ultimate goal is yourself. As soon as you doubt yourself and second think your abilities and intelligence, it all goes downhill from there. And don’t be afraid to reach out to someone who’s working in a field you’re interested in. Ask them if you guys could maybe grab a cup of coffee and talk about what their job is like, what are some projects or things they work on and any questions you have. It can’t hurt! If you have a goal or passion that you wanna pursue, be headstrong and just go for it! 🙂
Headshot16

Leave a Reply

