#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Jackie Pan

“The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity.” Amelia Earhart
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a rising senior at Carnegie Mellon University studying Information Systems. I served as President for two of the largest student run organizations this past spring (the Asian Students Association and Alpha Phi Omega Service Fraternity) and was the first high school engineering intern at Bloomberg L.P.  This is my fourth summer interning as a software engineer at Bloomberg, now having worked in their New York, London, and recently opened, San Francisco offices.
12898333_10153846396785660_1361450378500468201_o

At school, I’m part of a hip hop dance group. You can see some of my videos here!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChNJgqU6Ckk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HNoTCx1TJo

In addition to dance, one of the things I’m most passionate about is experiencing life and capturing it to share with others (https://www.youtube.com/user/jacpan1120). Along with my personal side projects, I also began and lead a video production group at school. We make a bunch of short, fun videos every month or so (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCs91lCrwAe3YGkNoYXgRV4g/videos).
10842096_10205315627228751_2254693467761927344_o

What # would define your life journey?
My life’s hashtag would definitely be #findadventure because I’m always actively looking for new adventures and experiences. This summer, on a whim, I went skydiving and this upcoming fall I’m planning on participating in Tough Mudder in Pittsburgh.

Favorite website / app:
Not sure if this counts but I love www.buzzfeed.com/tasty!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My mom and dad are my biggest role models. They have both taught me through their actions how to fight for what you want and trust those around you to catch you if you fall.

Song that makes you want to dance:
I will dance to any song that has a good beat especially pop EDM or songs from the 2000’s.
11895013_10206563640843994_2035459266006502224_o

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
As the first high school engineering intern at Bloomberg, there were many moments where I felt that I had to prove myself to my coworkers, friends and family.  It was hard being so young because right off the bat, you knew that you had a lot less technical and life experience as your co-workers. Even among the other interns, I was the only high school student so I couldn’t relate to their college stories and conversations. On top of that, as a woman in tech, there is that constant challenge of wanting and needing to prove that you are every bit as capable and knowledge as your fellow co-workers. Every year that I’ve been with Bloomberg, I’ve been on teams of 8-12 co-workers with at most 2 other females.  These types of challenges never really go away but I’ve learned that the best way to deal with them is head on. Luckily, I’ve never faced any sort of discrimination or gender prejudice at work but if I am ever in that type of situation, I would want to stand up for myself and educate those around me about the impact of their stereotyping.

Ideal Job:
Hopefully a career in software engineering and/or traveling the world creating fun short videos!

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
My biggest advice for other women is to not be afraid to ask for what you want and work hard to get it. Nothing good comes easy and the journey is as important as the destination.  And  it’s important to take a breath every once in a while and enjoy the little things in life. Stop stressing so much about school or grades or internships and maximize the time you have with friends and family. In the end, skills will only take you so far and you’ll need your network to take you farther.
12771929_965170570226545_5074210177795883652_o

Leave a Reply

