inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Maggie Pearce

“The only safe ship in a storm is leadership.” — Faye Wattleton
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a rising Junior at UC Santa Cruz studying Bioengineering with a concentration in Bioelectronics. I have two little sisters and two 9 year old dogs who are basically siblings as well. I’m live in Petaluma, California and I love the small town aspect of it. When I was a senior in high school I started my own macaron business, which continues to this day. I was super fortunate this summer to work at a tech camp for kids, and our camp was an all girls division. Meeting all the girls and teaching them for a week was incredibly rewarding, and I’m so glad I took the opportunity to do it.

A fun fact about myself is that I originally wanted to be a journalism major. My dad is a civil engineer, so he was not very pleased with the decision. In October of my senior year, I read an article on bioengineering and I was hooked- when I applied to colleges a month later, I applied as Undeclared, and quickly switched my major to bioengineering once I got to Santa Cruz.

What # would define your life journey?
A hashtag that would define my life journey would be(jeez this is so much harder than I thought it would be!!): #gingerwithgoals

Favorite website / app:
I love the app Prosper Daily, because its an easy way to track my spending. My most used app is (what else?) Facebook, but that’s more for mindless browsing.
outside lands

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I’m really inspired by my mom, one because she is the most amazing woman I know, and two because she is incredibly friendly. She taught me the value of friendships, people, and gave me my love of books and reading. I am also inspired by each woman I meet, or hear about, that is carving their way into the tech world; it makes me want to follow in their footsteps and break down all the barriers for those following us.

Song that makes you want to dance:
My guilty pleasure in music is most definitely Shakira. When “Hips Don’t Lie” comes on, I can’t help but dancing, though it mainly looks like an electric eel has attacked when I try.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
With the four year plan I designed my freshman year, I didn’t get to take any coding classes until my second year of college. I was terrified, because I had never coded before except for Java through Code Academy, and it was notoriously a really difficult class. Luckily, throughout the class, I gathered a great group of friends and classmates, and we were able to help each other through the toughest assignments. Right now, I’m working on a smart prosthetic and while there have been road bumps, I have a good support system to talk things through with and bounce ideas off of.
juve and maggie

Ideal Job:
In ten years, I would love to be a researcher working on smart prostheses. Right now, much of that work is being done in academia, but I hope to be working in the industry. There are so many innovations happening every day and I want to be a part of bringing those innovations to the public.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I think to truly REIGN in your life, it is so important to have a good outlook. When I am happy and optimistic about the world(even if I have tons of stuff to do or have hit a roadblock) the problem gets solved so much faster and my state of mind is so much better than when I let myself dwell on the stress. Sometimes, this comes in the form of not letting myself complain to my housemates at the end of the day, or making myself find at least one positive in the events of seemingly terrible days. It is also so important to surround yourself with amazing, supportive people who will lift you up, but also be counted on to give constructive criticism when it is needed.

All of us are more than capable of reigning our lives, and I hope that, despite any bumps in the road, each of us gets where we need to be.
silly camp

Leave a Reply

