#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Alicia Felix

“Leadership is a series of behaviors rather than a role for heroes.” — Margaret Wheatley
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I was born in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic and I moved to Miami, FL when I was 8 years old. I was always interested in Math and Science but I never had a good idea about what I wanted to do with it. When I started at FIU, I picked Computer Science as my major (lucky guess?) and to be honest, I had no idea what exactly Computer Science was. I enjoyed making websites so I thought that this major would include some of that, but I quickly learned that CS was not about making websites.

When I was first exposed to programming I was very intimidated and learning it did not come easy to me. There were times where I thought to myself that this major was not right for me but with time I actually got the hang of it. I realized that what I loved the most about studying CS was not writing code but it was all the logic and problem solving it required. I love a challenge and every program was different and exciting and that’s what made me realize that I had chosen the right career for me.

I graduated in April of 2014 with a B.S. in Computer Science. After graduation, I started working as a Software Consultant at IBM. As a Consultant, I travel every week to clients and I help them implement IBM Software. What I love about it is that I get to use my technical skills and also that it is a client facing role. As a Computer Scientist, a lot of the jobs are mostly writing code behind a computer (which is totally cool btw), but I knew that it wasn’t for me. I was fortunate to discover Consulting and I couldn’t be happier 🙂

Fun Facts:
– I love spicy foods! The spicier the better!
– I’m engaged 🙂 (we are getting married on Sept 2, 2017)
IMG_3221

What # would define your life journey?
#WomeninTech #iLookLikeanEngineer anything that empowers women!

Favorite website / app:
I love Twitter because it is so powerful! You can tweet companies and most of the times, you can expect a tweet back. I love following all different kinds of people and getting a deeper insight into their thoughts in 140 characters or less.

My current favorite app has to be Venmo. It’s so easy to use and it is very useful for those times where you want to split something with a friend and don’t have any cash on you (which for me, is always).

Song that makes you want to dance:
I love Spanish music! As long as I have a good dancing partner and a good beat, I’m set!

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Being one of the only women studying CS in college was very hard for me. I have no problem being surrounded by men, but there were times where I felt like they didn’t see me as their equal. It seemed like they had to make excuses for why I was doing well (like if I couldn’t have done it on my own). There were many times where I felt like I wasn’t good enough and it was a lot for me to handle.

I can now say that this helped me become a stronger person and that it taught me to not let anyone else make me feel inferior. I deserve to do well in my field just as much as anyone else and being a women should not affect that.
March 2016 iPhone pics 270

Ideal Job:
I’m very happy where I am right now, working with clients and traveling so I hope that in 10 years I am doing something similar but with a manager position. I have dreams of someday becoming an executive.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t give up. There are times where it may seem like it’s too hard or there are too many obstacles in the way, but just know that you can do it. Work hard, believe in yourself, surround yourself with people who motivate you and you’ll be able to do more than you ever thought possible.

2 thoughts on “Women Who Reign: Alicia Felix

Leave a Reply

