#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Veronica Perez

“When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us.” — Helen Keller
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi, I’m Veronica Perez, a materials science engineer working in Boise Idaho, I’m born and raised in Washington, graduating from Washington State University, Go Cougs! I love working in an environment that encourages me to be innovative and always enhancing techniques and practices. I work in the semiconductor memory industry, where chips and features are getting smaller and smaller, we are talking about nanometers, so staying ahead is critical. I love science and working in such a small scale, which makes exploring the world that more fascinating. Fun Fact, I studied in Barcelona Spain and traveled around Europe.

What # would define your life journey?
#Blessed

Favorite website / app:
I love Pinterest!
Screenshot_20160901-115703

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
One of my very good friends Claribel, a fellow women of color in engineering. She shared (and keeps sharing) her experience/knowledge of moving to a new city/state and the many obstacles that brings and making a life outside of work.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Vivir Mi Vida by Marc Anthony

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I lived in Jalisco, Mexico from the age of 13-17, it was amazing to live in my culture and be surrounded by all my extended family. I truly believe I became who I am today from this experience. The big challenge was moving back to the states my senior year in HS. I had culture shock to say the least and had to take an extra year to complete all the requirements to graduate and have a chance to attend college. Not to mention leaving behind my family and my first set of real friends. I buried myself in coursework and extracurricular activities until I graduated top 5% in HS and had a full ride to college.

Ideal Job:
I would like to be in a national lab working to discover some awesome materials application. I’m currently in industry and it’s very exciting and fast paced but not very research friendly.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Enjoy everyday! I think we lose ourselves trying to achieve a certain position in work or breaking barriers in our industries that we don’t focus enough on being truly happy, and doing what’s needed to achieve it.

Leave a Reply

